LibGuides: Diversity & Inclusion Resources: Race & Ethnicity

Books can be found as ebooks via the links provided or as print items in the Paul Meek Library. Most books are located on the 2nd floor, but new books are shelved on the 1st floor. If you have trouble locating a book, please stop by our service desk on the 1st floor for assistance.

Advancing Black Male Student Success from Preschool Through Ph. D. by J. Luke Wood (Editor); Shaun R. Harper (Editor)
Call Number: LC2731 .H36 2016
ISBN: 1620361833
Publication Date: 2015
Advancing Black Male Student Successpresents a comprehensive portrait of Black male students at every stage in the U.S. education system: preschool and kindergarten; elementary, middle and high schools; community colleges and four-year postsecondary institutions; and master's and doctoral programs. Each chapter is a synthesis of existing research on experience, educational outcomes, and persistent inequities at each pipeline point.
Asian Americans in Higher Education: Charting New Realities by Aehe; Xavier J. Hernandez (Editor); Dina C. Maramba (Editor); Yoon K. Pak (Editor)
Call Number: LC2633.6 .P34 2014
ISBN: 1118884906
Publication Date: 2014
The Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) population continues to obfuscate the discourse on diversity and higher education institutions. The historical and contemporary experiences of AAPIs in higher education clearly indicate that their presence has influenced and reinforced the importance of diversity in educational environments.
Asian American Students in Higher Education by Samuel D. Museus
Call Number: LC2633.6 .M87 2014
ISBN: 0415844312
Publication Date: 2014
Asian American Students in Higher Education offers the first comprehensive analysis and synthesis of existing theory and research related to Asian American students' experiences in postsecondary education.
Black Men in the Academy: Narratives of Resiliency, Achievement, and Success by Brian L. McGowan (Editor); Robert T. Palmer (Editor); J. Luke Wood (Editor); David F. Hibbler, Jr. (Editor)
Call Number: LC2781 .B4647 2016
ISBN: 9781137567260
Publication Date: 2015
Using an anti-deficit approach, Black Men in the Academy explores narratives of resiliency, success, and achievement for black men in the academy. This book is an important text for scholars interested in promoting success in education for underrepresented minorities.
The Black Presidency: Barack Obama and the Politics of Race in America by Michael Eric Dyson
Call Number: E185.615 .D9449 2016
ISBN: 9780544387669
Publication Date: 2016
Michael Eric Dyson explores the powerful, surprising way the politics of race have shaped Barack Obama's identity and groundbreaking presidency.
The Enigma of Diversity: The Language of Race and the Limits of Racial Justice by Ellen Berrey
Call Number: E184.A1 B4287 2015
ISBN: 022624623X
Publication Date: 2015
Drawing on six years of fieldwork and historical sources dating back to the 1950s and making extensive use of three case studies from widely varying arenas--housing redevelopment in Chicago's Rogers Park neighborhood, affirmative action in the University of Michigan's admissions program, and the workings of the human resources department at a Fortune 500 company--Berrey explores the complicated, contradictory, and even troubling meanings and uses of diversity as it is invoked by different groups for different, often symbolic ends. In each case, diversity affirms inclusiveness, especially in the most coveted jobs and colleges, yet it resists fundamental change in the practices and cultures that are the foundation of social inequality.
The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness by Michelle Alexander; Cornel West (Introduction by)
Call Number: HV9950 .A437 2010
ISBN: 1595586431
Publication Date: 2012
In a bold and innovative argument, a rising legal star shows readers how the mass incarceration of a disproportionate number of black men amounts to a devastating system of racial control. This is a terrifying reality that exists in the UK as much as in the US. Despite the triumphant dismantling of the Jim Crow laws, the system that once forced African-Americans into a segregated second-class citizenship still haunts and the criminal justice system still unfairly targets black men and deprives an entire segment of the population of their basic rights.
On Being Included: Racism and Diversity in Institutional Life by Sara Ahmed
Call Number: LC212.4 A398 2012
ISBN: 0822352362
Publication Date: 2012
Sara Ahmed offers an account of the diversity world based on interviews with diversity practitioners in higher education, as well as her own experience of doing diversity work. Diversity is an ordinary, even unremarkable, feature of institutional life. Yet diversity practitioners often experience institutions as resistant to their work, as captured through their use of the metaphor of the "brick wall." On Being Included offers an explanation of this apparent paradox.
Race, Class, and Affirmative Action by Sigal Alon
Call Number: LC213.52 .A55 2015
ISBN: 0871540010
Publication Date: 2015
No issue in American higher education is more contentious than that of race-based affirmative action. In light of the ongoing debate around the topic and recent Supreme Court rulings, affirmative action policy may be facing further changes. As an alternative to race-based affirmative action, some analysts suggest affirmative action policies based on class. In Race, Class, and Affirmative Action, sociologist Sigal Alon studies the race-based affirmative action policies in the United States.
Race News: Black Journalists and the Fight for Racial Justice in the Twentieth Century by Fred Carroll
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780252050091
Publication Date: 2017
When Diversity Drops: Race, Religion, and Affirmative Action in Higher Education by Julie J. Park
Call Number: LC3727 .P24 2013
ISBN: 9780813561691
Publication Date: 2013
Julie J. Park examines how losing racial diversity in a university affects the everyday lives of its students. She uses a student organization, the InterVarsity Christian Fellowship (IVCF) at "California University," as a case study to show how reductions in racial diversity impact the ability of students to sustain multiethnic communities.

The databases at the top house several articles and other resources that may be of interest. A selection of specific articles are linked below the databases. Some resources are only available if you're on campus or logged in off campus. If you have trouble accessing any of these articles, you may use the contact information on this guide's Getting Started page for assistance.

African-American History (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Researchers can delve deep into their topics or examine different perspectives through event and topic entries, slideshows, primary sources, images, tablet/mobile-friendly videos, general and topic-specific timelines, biographies of key people, original maps and charts.
History Research Center (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
6 databases that includes African American History, American History, American Indian History, Ancient and Medieval History, and World Religions.
American Indian History (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource that spans our nations history, includes subject entries, biographies, primary sources, videos and slideshows, images, timelines, and maps and graphs.
Diversity Studies Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes 150 full-text journals. Coverage begins in 1980. Full text available.

The following links are selections of journals and search options within the Library's JSTOR database collections:

JSTOR - American Indian Studies
JSTOR - African American Studies
JSTOR - Asian Studies
JSTOR - Jewish Studies
JSTOR- Latin American Studies
Fitzpatrick, M., & Reed-Sandoval, A. (2018). Race, Pre-College Philosophy, and the Pursuit of a Critical Race Pedagogy for Higher Education. Ethics And Education, 13(1), 105-122.
Han, K. T., & Leonard, J. (2017). Why Diversity Matters in Rural America: Women Faculty of Color Challenging Whiteness. Urban Review: Issues And Ideas In Public Education, 49(1), 112-139.
Julie Washington’s Quest to Get Schools to Respect African-American English
Brennan, W. (2018). THE CODE-SWITCHER: Julie Washington's lifelong quest to change the way we teach young speakers of African-American English. The Atlantic, (3). 18.
Letter from Birmingham Jail
Letter written by the Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. during his nine-day imprisonment in Birmingham, Alabama, April 12–20, 1963, for organizing a series of antisegregation demonstrations. The letter was a reply to an appeal that had been issued in January 1963 by eight white Birmingham clergymen. Titled "An Appeal for Law and Order and Common Sense," the clergymens' letter had urged civil rights leaders to seek redress for racial injustice through the courts rather than through mass demonstrations. King responded in biblical terms, likening his activities to those of Old Testament prophets and early Christian apostles. Tracing the failed negotiations that had preceded the demonstrations, King concluded that nonviolent protest was the only possible response to the injustice of legalized racial segregation. - From the African-American History (Infobase) database available via Paul Meek Library
Salinas, C. J. (2017). Transforming Academia and Theorizing Spaces for Latinx in Higher Education: "Voces Perdidas" and "Voces De Poder". International Journal Of Qualitative Studies In Education (QSE), 30(8), 746-758.
The author argues the importance of publishing in Spanish as form of liberatory practice to provide a voice for Spanish-speaking communities who currently do not have access (to the power of academia and of information), and whose lived experiences are not acknowledged or captured in this medium, and who have by-and-large been marginalized and forgotten in research. In attempt to help improve our understandings of Latinos/as in society--and provide access, give a voice, and reflect on their lived experiences--we must publish in Spanish and teach about the "voces perdidas" that have been erased from the educational curriculum, and the "voces de poder" who have dominated and silenced the "voces perdidas".

Code Switch: Race and Identity, Remixed
A blog and podcast site from National Public Radio (NPR)
Racial/Ethnic Minority Students
A resource from the American Council on Education (ACE)
Which English You Speak Has Nothing to Do With How Smart You Are
A blog post on Slate's Lex-I-Con Valley: A Blog About Language, by Anne H. Charity Hudley. From the article: But what's a teacher to do? On the one hand, they need to help students prepare for a world that—like it or not—isn't particularly accepting of linguistic variation. But on the other, they want to do so in a way that lets students continue to be proud of who they are and where they come from, rather than pushing them into tongue-tied linguistic insecurity.