LibGuides: Diversity & Inclusion Resources: Neurodiversity

Books can be found as ebooks via the links provided or as print items in the Paul Meek Library. Most books are located on the 2nd floor, but new books are shelved on the 1st floor. If you have trouble locating a book, please stop by our service desk on the 1st floor for assistance.

ADHD According to Zoe by Zoe Kessler; Patricia O. Quinn (Foreword by)
Call Number: RC394.A85 K47 2013
ISBN: 9781608826612
Publication Date: 2013
Like many women with attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), journalist and popular blogger Zoë Kessler was diagnosed late in life--well into adulthood, in fact. But instead of seeing this label as a burden to bear, Kessler decided to use it to gain a better understanding of herself, and to connect with others through her writing. In this unique and engaging memoir, Kessler shares her own stories of living with ADHD in a way that is relatable, but never predictable. Inside, she describes how her impulsive behavior has affected her love life; how being disorganized once stood in the way of landing a job; and how inattentiveness has caused certain challenges in her relationships.
The Autistic Brain by Temple Grandin; Richard Panek
Call Number: RC553 .A88 G725 2014
ISBN: 0544227735
Publication Date: 2014
Weaving her own experience with remarkable new discoveries, Grandin introduces the advances in neuroimaging and genetic research that link brain science to behavior, even sharing her own brain scan to show which anomalies might explain common symptoms. Most excitingly, she argues that raising and educating kids on the autism spectrum must focus on their long-overlooked strengths to foster their unique contributions.
The Dyslexic Advantage: Unlocking the Hidden Potential of the Dyslexic Brain by Brock L. Eide; Fernette F. Eide
Call Number: RC394.W6 E33 2012
ISBN: 0452297923
Publication Date: 2012
Did you know that many successful architects, lawyers, engineers--even bestselling novelists--had difficulties learning to read and write as children? In this groundbreaking book, Brock and Fernette Eide explain how 20% of people--individuals with dyslexia--share a unique learning style that can create advantages in a classroom, at a job, or at home.
Neurodiversity: Discovering the Extraordinary Gifts of Autism, ADHD, Dyslexia, and Other Brain Differences by Thomas Armstrong
Call Number: RC455.4 .B5 A745 2010
ISBN: 0738213543
Publication Date: 2010
A new term has emerged from the disability movement in the past decade to help change the way we think about neurological disorders: Neurodiversity. ADHD. Dyslexia. Autism. The number of categories of illnesses listed by the American Psychiatric Association has tripled in the past fifty years. With so many people affected by our growing "culture of disabilities," it no longer makes sense to hold on to the deficit-ridden idea of neuropsychological illness.
NeuroTribes: The Legacy of Autism and the Future of Neurodiversity by Steve Silberman; Oliver Sacks (Foreword by)
Call Number: RC553 .A88 S54 2015
ISBN: 0399185615
Publication Date: 2016
This New York Times-bestselling book upends conventional thinking about autism and suggests a broader model for acceptance, understanding, and full participation in society for people who think differently.
The Other Side of Normal: How Biology is Providing the Clues to Unlock the Secrets of Normal and Abnormal Behavior by Jordan W. Smoller
Call Number: QH457 .S66 2012
ISBN: 0061492205
Publication Date: 2013
In this enthralling work of popular science, respected Harvard psychiatrist Jordan Smoller addresses one of humankind's most enduring and perplexing questions: What does it mean to be "normal?"

The databases at the top house several articles and other resources that may be of interest. A selection of specific articles are linked below the databases. Some resources are only available if you're on campus or logged in off campus. If you have trouble accessing any of these articles, you may use the contact information on this guide's Getting Started page for assistance.

PsycARTICLES (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Articles from all of the publications of the American Psychological Association.
Psychology Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of periodicals supporting all aspects of psychology.
Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Clinical and social psychology articles on topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.
PsycINFO (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present.
Social Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Research covering topics in sociology, social work, anthropology, and politics.

Here’s What Neurodiversity Is – And What It Means For Feminism
Liebowitz, Cara. (2016, March 4). "Here’s What Neurodiversity Is – And What It Means For Feminism." Everyday Feminism.
The Myth of the Normal Brain: Embracing Neurodiversity
Armstrong, T. (2015). "The Myth of the Normal Brain: Embracing Neurodiversity." AMA Journal of Ethics, 17(4), 348-352.
Neurodiversity as a Competitive Advantage
Pisano, R. D. (2017, July 18). "Neurodiversity Is a Competitive Advantage." Harvard Business Review.
The Next Frontier in Workplace Diversity: Brain Differences
Lewis, Katherine Reynolds. (2014, December 16). "The Next Frontier in Workplace Diversity: Brain Differences." Fortune.

Listening, Kindness, and Individuality: The Advice One Student With Asperger's Has for Us All
From the TED-Ed Blog
Neurodiversity: A Person, A Perspective, A Movement?
A posting by Debra Muzikar on The Art of Autism website
Understanding the Spectrum - A Comic Strip Explanation
From The Art of Autism website
“Sesame Street,” Julia and me: How a Muppet with autism helps heal childhood wounds
By Matthew Rozsa, for Salon Magazine. From the author: "I wish there had been a character like Julia on TV when I was a lonely kid with an autism diagnosis"
more...less...
From the article: At its best, encouraging diversity and representation isn't about bean counting, and it should rarely be about policing language or shaming perceived transgressors. It is instead about making sure the people who get left out of our popular culture finally feel like their stories are being told. After all, the movies and television shows and books and music that we consume are more than entertainment. Through the stories woven by these various texts, we as a society develop a better understand of who we are, what we dream and how we perceive the larger world around us. Consequently, when a group of people are either misrepresented or underrepresented (or both), they can wind up feeling caricatured, ostracized or invisible.
Our Neurodiverse World
An excerpt from Steve Silberman's book, NeuroTribes

The TEDTalk above is by Temple Grandin, author of several books, including The Autistic Brain: Helping Different Kinds of Minds Succeed (available in the Library's Main Collection, on the 2nd floor - Call Number: RC553.A88 G737 2015).