LibGuides: Mass Media &amp; Strategic Communications: Home

Mass Media and Strategic Communications Department

Mass Media & Strategic Communications
The Department of Mass Media & Strategic Communications offers 8 concentrations:
Broadcast & Multimedia Production,
Broadcasting,
Editorial News,
Journalism & Digital Communication,
Media Design,
Media Design & Digital Content Production,
Public Relations, and
Strategic Communication and Public Relations.
In addition, the department offers a Master of Arts in Strategic Communication.
Careers
Mass Media & Strategic Communications will prepare graduates for careers in broadcasting, advertising, publications, or journalism.

Relevant Books

We Now Disrupt This Broadcast by Amanda D. Lotz; John L. Landgraf
ISBN: 9780262037679
Publication Date: 2018-04-06
The collision of new technologies, changing business strategies, and innovative storytelling that produced a new golden age of TV.
Rethinking Journalism Again by Chris Peters (Editor); Marcel Broersma (Editor)
ISBN: 9781138860858
Publication Date: 2016-09-16
By discussing what journalism was, is, and (possibly) will be, this book highlights key contemporary areas of debate and tackles on-going anxieties about its future.
Bureau of Spies by Steven T. Usdin
ISBN: 9781633884762
Publication Date: 2018-09-04
Covert intelligence gathering, propaganda, fake news stories, dirty tricks--these tools of spy craft have been used for seven decades by agents hiding in plain sight in Washington's National Press Building. This revealing book tells the story of espionage conducted by both US and foreign intelligence operatives just blocks from the White House.

Generally Useful Databases

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Over 7,000 academic-level educational streaming videos covering most subject areas, from Films Media Group.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Covers the most important and controversial issues of the day. Contains the full text of CQ Researcher, a weekly publication. Each issue provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and list of major research and advocacy groups. Includes extensive lists of sources and hot-linked footnotes throughout.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context supports virtually any curricular need. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Exclusive Viewpoint pages bring balance and perspective to every controversy using targeted arguments from recognized subject-matter experts and top journalistic sources.

Library of Congress Chronicling America Historic American Newspapers
Chronicling America provides access to millions of digitized historic American newspapers pages. This page includes links and descriptions to several different types of interactive maps, graphs, and charts designed to assist users in better understanding the scope and coverage of newspapers in Chronicling America.
Gale Communications and Mass Media
ProQuest Global Breaking Newswires
In the modern news world, newswires are the chief source of timely news and, with increasing pressures on the traditional news industry, newswires are often the only news coverage for many large regions of the globe. Global Breaking Newswires is the premier library news product providing timely access to the best newswire content available from around the globe for the modern researcher as well as growing archive of news indexed and accessible through the familiar & popular research functionality of the ProQuest platform.
ProQuest International Newsstream
International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. ProQuest International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
ProQuest U.S. Newsstream
U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, U.S. Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. U.S. Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
Coverage: 1980 - current
NewsBank
NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues.

Useful Websites

Pro Con
Promoting critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, and primarily pro-con format.
Project Information Literacy
The News Study research report presents findings about how a sample of U.S. college students gather information and engage with news in the digital age.
Associated Collegiate Press
The Associated Collegiate Press, a division of the National Scholastic Press Association, based and incorporated in Minnesota as a non-profit educational association, provides journalism education services to students, teachers, media advisers and others throughout the United States and in other countries.
Electronic Frontier Foundation
The Electronic Frontier Foundation is the leading organization protecting civil liberties in the digital world. Founded in 1990, we defend free speech online, fight illegal surveillance, promote the rights of digital innovators, and work to ensure that the rights and freedoms we enjoy are enhanced, rather than eroded, as our use of technology grows.
Media Bias Chart
The Interactive Chart allows the viewer to click on a news source and see its bias score and location on the chart.
Data Journalism
We provide data journalists with free resources, materials, online video courses and community forums. DataJournalism.com is created by the European Journalism Centre and supported by Google News Initiative.

Mass Media & Strategic Communications

Librarian

Quick Links

Mass Media and Strategic Communications Department

Relevant Books

Generally Useful Databases

Useful Websites