"American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience."
Google Art Project
This website is a new project from Google that allows users to visit museums around the world virtually.
The National Gallery Collection is comprised of high definition images from the National Gallery, London. Each entry includes a description of the work along with its artist, medium, dimensions, acquisition credit, and date made.
Offers digitized items from the Research Library, Special Collections, Photo Archive, and Institutional Archives and range from the 15th century to the present. Items include books, photographs, manuscripts, archives, and works on paper. Therre is also free access to BHA via the Getty site.
Online collections from the Metropolitan Museum of Art include: American Art, Ancient Near Eastern Art, Arms and Armor, Arts of Africa, Oceania, and the Americas, Asian Art, The Cloisters, The Costume Institute, Drawings and Prints, Egyptian Art, European Paintings, European Sculpture and Decorative Arts, Greek and Roman Art, Islamic Art, The Robert Lehman Collection, Medieval Art, Modern and Contemporary Art, Musical Instruments, and Photographs.
Provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Tumblr hosts over 109 blogs including those of museums, galleries, and artists. It's great for following emergent artists who may be less likely to have a published monograph. You can find local artists here. No standardization of image quality. Free mobile app available.