LibGuides: News Sources: Historical News Sources

Historical Newspaper Databases

Take a trip back in time with these news sources. These databases hold archives of historic newspapers. Let us know if you need hep finding more historic newspapers.

NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Contains "History in the News" special reports
Historical Nashville Tennessean (1812 - 2002) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Local Tennessee news dating back to 1812.
New York Times (1851-2017) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
Digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
Archival Films & Newsreels Collection This link opens in a new window
Thousands of historically significant videos from 1919-1968, such as the Hindenburg explosion, the moon landing, Martin Luther King, Jr.'s I Have a Dream speech and much more.
British Library Newspapers - 1746-1950 (Gale) This link opens in a new window
British Library Newspapers contains full runs of influential newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society.
HarpWeek This link opens in a new window
America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper. 1857-1877.
The Times Digital Archive (1785-2012) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. Search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.

AP Archive

AP Archive
AP Archive represents some of the most extensive moving image collections from all over the world.