LibGuides: HIST 499: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the Research Guide for HIST 499! This guide serves as a starting point for your research, including primary sources, general databases, and other useful guides, such as citations and plagiarism.

Feel free to chat with us anytime, and make an appointment with me if you need help finding, using, or evaluating your sources.

Tips:

Start early and give yourself plenty of time
Search in multiple databases
Primary sources take more time to find and analyze the further back you go
Start broad with your search terms
Try multiple search terms
Narrow by date
If you find something that looks good, grab the citation and save it in a way so you can get back to later
Most of the primary source collections have zoom and full-screen features to make it easier to navigate
Some of the primary source collections below have been recreated in HTML. These are easier to read, but you lose the original format and can't see how the artifact actually looked when it was created.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Modern World History (InfoBase) This link opens in a new window
Some primary sources but few that date back to 1500. Also includes encyclopedia entries.
World Religions (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Explores Christianity, Islam, Judaism, Hinduism, Buddhism, Shinto, Sikhism, traditional regional religions and more.
Ancient and Medieval History (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Presents the full scope of world history from prehistory through the 1500s, with special topic centers on key civilizations and regions.
African-American History (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Event and topic entries, slideshows, primary sources, images, tablet/mobile-friendly videos, general and topic-specific timelines, biographies of key people, original maps and charts.

Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Library database. Primary sources from 1100. Narrow by date and search by keyword.
ArtStor This link opens in a new window
Library database. Covers over 1.5 million high-quality images of paintings, ceramics, sculpture, and decorative arts from around the world. Narrow by date.

Library of Congress
Web. The Library of Congress has millions of digitized maps, books, newspapers, and manuscripts dating back to the 1100s. Sort by date, format, or location.
World Digital Library
Web. Project from the Library of Congress. WDL makes over 20,000 maps, manuscripts, and artwork freely available on the internet. Sort by date, time period, or location.
Digital Public Library of America
Web. Digital collection of images, texts, videos, and sounds. Includes some primary sources in US and European history.
Hanover Historical Texts
Web. Makes primary texts readily available to students and faculty for use in history and humanities courses. Broken down by time period.
Digital Scriptorium
Web. Scanned images of primary sources from a variety of university libraries and archives.
Digital Bodleian
Web. Discover over a million images of rare books, manuscripts, and other treasures from the Bodleian Libraries and Oxford college libraries.
Avalon Project
Web. Browse by date to find primary sources.

More Help

WorldCat (First Search) This link opens in a new window
The UTM library has about 350,000 books, but there may be more relevant books on your topic. Use WorldCat to find books at other college libraries, and then request those books through Interlibrary Loan. Be sure to give yourself several weeks!

Interlibrary Loan
Use ILL to request books or articles that we don't have. Allow yourself about 3 weeks for books.
UTM Writing Center
The Hortense Parrish Writing Center is located in the Humanities Building 209 Monday through Thursday from 8 AM to 5 PM and Fridays from 8 AM to 4 PM. They have extra hours in the library Sunday through Thursday from 6 to 9 PM.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
This library database allows you to look up newer articles that cited your source as a reference. This allows you to to follow the citation trail in both directions and is a great way to find several sources on the same topic.

Also great for finding peer-reviewed articles in all disciplines.

Citations
by Conrad Pegues Last Updated May 12, 2022 1076 views this year
Copyright
by Samuel Richardson Last Updated Jun 23, 2022 143 views this year
Plagiarism
by Samuel Richardson Last Updated May 10, 2022 473 views this year
News Sources
by Samuel Richardson Last Updated Jan 9, 2023 1074 views this year
History (General)
by Samuel Richardson Last Updated Jan 9, 2023 42 views this year

Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
This library database helps you learn how to research with research tips, methods on data collection, the research process, research ethics, and formulating your topic.

HIST 499

Schedule Appointment

Great Place to Start

Quick Links

Welcome

Best Bets

More Help