Skip to Main Content
Government Databases
CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)
The CDC is one of the major operating components of the Department of Health and Human Services. The CDC serves as the national focus for developing and applying disease prevention and control, environmental health, and health promotion and health education designed to improve the health of the people of the United States.
Clinical Trials Database
ClinicalTrials.gov is a Web-based resource that provides patients, their family members, health care professionals, researchers, and the public with easy access to information on publicly and privately supported clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions. The Web site is maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Genetics Reference
Provides information on over 600 genetic conditions, syndromes, and diseases. Information on over 850 genes, chromosomes, mitochondrial DNA and associated health conditions. Links to other genetic information and organizations. Includes a glossary of medical and genetics terms.
National Institute of Nursing Research
The mission of the NINR is to promote and improve the health of individuals, families, communities, and populations. NINR supports and conducts clinical and basic research and research training on health and illness across the lifespan to build the scientific foundation for clinical practice, prevent disease and disability, manage and eliminate symptoms caused by illness, and improve palliative and end-of-life care
Pub Med Central
PubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Reports of the U.S. Surgeon General
As the Nation’s Doctor, the Surgeon General provides Americans with the best scientific information available on how to improve their health and reduce the risk of illness and injury. The purpose of the Surgeon's office is to protect, promote and advance the health of our nation. Read the Surgeon Generals' reports here.
MedlinePlus
National Institutes of Health website for the general public, providing information on diseases, conditions, wellness issues. Includes health videos and surgical procedures videos.
Health Statistics
Find and use current and reliable health statistics provided by U.S. Library of Medicine which is part of the U.S. National Institutes of Health
National Cancer Institute
NCI’s mission is to lead, conduct, and support cancer research across the nation to advance scientific knowledge and help all people live longer, healthier lives.
U.S. National Cancer Institute
Up-to-date information on cancer topics, types of cancer, clinical trials, treatments, research & funding, news, prevention and screening
Flu.gov
Up-to-date information on the flu. This site is for medical professionals, as well as general public. Includes interactive flu surveillance data.
National Institute on Drug Abuse
Resources on drug abuse, treatment, prevention, crime and research.
