Pharmacology and the Nursing Process [NURS 201 & 202] by
Let this outstanding pharmacology text help you learn how to administer drugs safely and effectively! Now in its eighth edition, Pharmacology and the Nursing Process continues to deliver the perfect amount of pharmacology, prioritization, and nursing process information to today''s nursing students.
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions [NURS 212] by
Make sense of the complex world of health care with Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions, 10th Edition. This one-stop reference includes detailed entries that help you communicate more effectively with colleagues in various disciplines. With over 56,000 definitions, 2,450 photographs and line drawings, and supporting reference appendixes and atlases, it is an indispensable reference for students and professionals alike.
Bed Number Ten [NURS 212] by
A patient's personal view of long term care. Seen through the eyes of a patient totally paralyzed with Guillain-Barré syndrome, this moving book takes you through the psychological and physical pain of an eleven month hospital stay. BED NUMBER TEN reads like a compelling novel, but is entirely factual. You will meet: The ICU staff who learned to communicate with the paralyzed woman - and those who did not bother. The physicians whose visits left her baffled about her own case. The staff and physicians who spoke to her and others who did not recognize her presence. The nurse who tucked Sue tightly under the covers, unaware that she was soaking with perspiration. The nurse who took the time to feed her drop by drop, as she slowly learned how to swallow again. The physical therapist who could read her eyes and spurred her on to move again as if the battle were his own. In these pages, which reveal the caring, the heroism, and the insensitivity sometimes found in the health care fields, you may even meet people you know.
Medical Language Instant Translator [NURS 212] by
Find quick, practical explanations of specialized medical terminology! Davi-Ellen Chabner's Medical Language Instant Translator, 6th Edition provides a handy reference that's ideal for everyday use in the classroom and in the health care environment. Access key information on diagnostic tests and procedures, commonly misunderstood medical terms, and interpreting medical reports. Find coverage of the top 100 prescription drugs, medical abbreviations, symbols, and acronyms, and more. Based on Chabner's The Language of Medicine, this compact resource makes it easier to understand complicated medical terms and communicate more effectively. Quick, portable access makes it easy to find information on key medical terms, abbreviations, common diagnoses, and more. Medical Terms Easily Confused section helps you distinguish between commonly misunderstood medical terms. Diagnostic Tests and Procedures section addresses commonly performed diagnostic tests and procedures and why they are ordered. Body Systems sections include labeled, full-color illustrations for a handy review of anatomy. Other translations of medical language include sections on acronyms, eponyms, symbols, plurals, surgical terminology and technology, prescription drugs, and complementary and alternative medicine. NEW Understanding Medical Reports section helps you navigate through the terminology and background of clinical procedures and tests. NEW terms and definitions reflect the latest advances in health care. UPDATES provide the latest information on topics such as health care organizations, certifications, and professional designations.
Understanding Pathophysiology [NURS 212] by
Master the important pathophysiology concepts you need to know with the most engaging and reader-friendly text available. Filled with vibrant illustrations and complemented by online resources that bring pathophysiology concepts to life, Understanding Pathophysiology, 6th Edition continues its tradition of delivering the most accurate information on treatments, manifestations, and mechanisms of disease across the lifespan, giving you the fundamental knowledge needed to move forward in your nursing education and career. New additions include a new chapter on epigenetics, new content on rare diseases, a separate chapter for male and female reproductive alterations, streamlined features, simplified language, and fully updated information throughout. Introduction to Pathophysiology in the front matter section provides intro to the subject of pathophysiology and explains why it is important. Consistent presentation helps readers better distinguish pathophysiology, clinical manifestations, and evaluation and treatment for each disease. More than 1,000 high-quality illustrations vividly depict clinical manifestations and cellular mechanisms underlying diseases. Lifespan coverage details age-specific conditions affecting pediatric, adult, and aging patients in depth. Algorithms throughout the text clarify disease progression. Risk Factor boxes alert readers to important safety considerations associated with specific diseases. Health Alert boxes highlight new developments in biologic research, diagnostic studies, preventive care, treatments, and more. Quick Check boxes test readers' retention of important chapter concepts. Geriatric Considerations boxes and Pediatric Considerations boxes highlight key considerations for these demographics in relevant chapters. Did You Understand? sections provide a fast and efficient review of chapter content. Chapter outlines help readers find specific information with ease. Chapter introductions explain why chapter content is important and how it fits into a broader health care context. Key terms are bolded throughout the text for fast, easy reference. Glossary of selected terms familiarizes readers with the most difficult or important terminology. Additional online resources on Evolve companion website offers access to animations, review questions, key terms matching exercises, and more. NEW! Chapter on Epigenetics gives students knowledge and insight into key processes that influence normal and abnormal cell growth and development. NEW! Streamlined tables and flowcharts make information easier to access. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest clinical findings and research across the full spectrum of pathophysiology. NEW! Additional content on rare diseases gives students a more comprehensive understanding of conditions that affect the human body. NEW! Division of Alterations of the Reproductive Systems chapter will now cover male and female reproductive systems in separate chapters. NEW! 25 additional illustrations bring key concepts to life.
Test Success [NURS 212] by
The road to nursing success begins here! * A complete review of core concepts. * Approximately 900 questions (Alternate format, too!) * Test-taking hints and rationales for correct and incorrect answers. Practice questions in the text and online at DavisPlus introduce beginning nursing students to the variety of testing formats, including alternate-item format questions that they'll encounter throughout their nursing education and on the NCLEX exam. An easy-to-follow format organizes information into 14 content areas. Invaluable coverage enhances critical thinking, time management, and effective study habits through proven techniques, improving classroom performance and test-taking. Thoroughly updated and revised, the 7th Edition provides more alternate-item-format questions reflecting the latest NCLEX-RN® test plan as well as a wealth of test-taking tips to reduce anxiety and build confidence for Test Success! What instructors and students are saying about the Success Series: "We have used your products for students to help increase critical thinking skills, prepare for NCLEX and course exams, and for review of nursing content. We recommend students purchase the Success Series and review the content and questions for remediation and to enhance nursing knowledge. The terminology at the beginning of each chapter provide key terms for the students to review before answering questions. The books are all encompassing in regards to what students need to review across the curriculum. We love them!!" - Louise Outlaw, Instructor at Brown Mackie College, St.Louis "I love the Success books because of the rationales that explain the answers. My test scores definitely went up after I found these books." - Sakina Mahama, Student at Georgia Baptist College of Nursing Mercer University, GA "The Success books are absolutely essential to my study regime. I literally need one like I need coffee in the morning to pass an exam!" --Taryn Van Rensburg, Student Nurse, Naugatuck Valley Community College, CT. Redeem the Plus Code inside new, printed texts to access your DavisPlus online Premium resources--two, 75-question course exams.
Nursing Diagnosis Handbook [NURS 212] by
Ackley's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook: An Evidence-Based Guide to Planning Care, 11th Edition helps practicing nurses and nursing students select appropriate nursing diagnoses and write care plans with ease and confidence. This convenient handbook shows you how to correlate nursing diagnoses with known information about clients on the basis of assessment findings, established medical or psychiatric diagnoses, and the current treatment plan. Extensively revised and updated with the new 2015-2017 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses, it integrates the NIC and NOC taxonomies, evidence-based nursing interventions, and adult, pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, home care, and client/family teaching and discharge planning considerations to guide you in creating unique, individualized care plans. Comprehensive, up-to-date information on all the 2015-2017 NANDA-I nursing diagnoses so you stay in the know. UNIQUE! Provides care plans for every NANDA-I approved nursing diagnosis plus two unique care plans for Hearing Loss and Vision Loss. Includes pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, client/family teaching and discharge planning, home care, and safety interventions as necessary for plans of care. Presents examples of and suggested NIC interventions and NOC outcomes in each care plan. UNIQUE! Care Plan Constructor on the companion Evolve website offers hands-on practice creating customized plans of care. 150 NCLEX exam-style review questions are available on Evolve. Promotes evidence-based interventions and rationales by including recent or classic research that supports the use of each intervention. Classic evidence-based references promote evidence-based interventions and rationales. Clear, concise interventions are usually only a sentence or two long and use no more than two references. Safety content emphasizes what must be considered to provide safe patient care. Step-by-step instructions show you how to use the Guide to Nursing Diagnoses and Guide to Planning Care sections to create a unique, individualized plan of care. List of Nursing Diagnosis Index in back inside cover of book for quick reference. Three-column index is easy to use. Easy-to-follow sections I and II guide you through the nursing process and selecting appropriate nursing diagnoses. Alphabetical thumb tabs allow quick access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses. NEW! Includes the new 2015-2017 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses, compete with 26 new diagnoses. NEW and UPDATED! Provides the latest NIC/NOC, interventions, and rationales for every care plan. EXPANDED! Additional information on concept based nursing and major nursing theories provides you with the knowledge you need for clinical success. EXPANDED! New content on QSEN, safety, and risk for infection keeps you up to date. NEW! In-depth coverage of wellness and primary prevention stresses the importance of health and wellness. NEW! Appendixes in the text provide you with valuable information in an easy-to-access location. NEW! Revised references in APA style.
The Neuman Systems Model [NURS 212 & 221] by
Completely updated in a new edition, this book presents a look at the application of the Neuman Systems Model in nursing education and practice, with emphasis on social change, current trends, and future nursing needs. It includes specific guidelines for providing holistic systems based perspective for optimal client system care. Through the contributions of an international contingent of authors, the text offers diverse viewpoints of global health care concerns relevant to the 21st century. This book is a perfect resource for clinicians, researchers, and administrators in all health care disciplines.
Fundamentals of Nursing [NURS 212 & 231] by
It''s your complete guide to nursing - from basic concepts to essential skills! Fundamentals of Nursing, 9th Edition prepares you to succeed as a nurse by providing a solid foundation in critical thinking, evidence-based practice, nursing theory, and safe clinical care in all settings. With illustrated, step-by-step guidelines, this book makes it easy to learn important skills and procedures. Care plans are presented within a nursing process framework, and case studies show how to apply concepts to nursing practice. From an expert author team led by Patricia Potter and Anne Griffin Perry, this bestselling nursing textbook helps you develop the understanding and clinical reasoning you need to provide excellent patient care. 51 skills demonstrations provide illustrated, step-by-step instructions for safe nursing care - and include rationales for each step. 29 procedural guidelines provide streamlined, step-by-step instructions for performing basic skills. UNIQUE! Critical Thinking Models in each clinical chapter show how to apply the nursing process and critical thinking to achieve successful clinical outcomes. Evidence-Based Practice chapter shows how nursing research helps in determining best practices. UNIQUE! Caring for the Cancer Survivor chapter prepares nurses to care for cancer patients who may still face physical and emotional issues. Case studies include unique clinical application questions and exercises, allowing you to practice using care plans and concept maps. The 5-step nursing process provides a consistent framework for care, and is demonstrated in more than 20 care plans. 15 review questions in every chapter test your retention of key concepts, with answers available in the book and on the Evolve companion website. Practical study tools on Evolve include video clips of skills, skills checklists, printable key points, a fluid & electrolytes tutorial, a concept map creator, an audio glossary, and more. UNIQUE! Clear, streamlined writing style makes complex material more approachable. More than 20 concept maps show care planning for clients with multiple nursing diagnoses. Key points and key terms in each chapter summarize important content for more efficient review and study. Unexpected Outcomes and Related Interventions for each skill alert you to potential problems and appropriate nursing actions. Delegation coverage clarifies which tasks can and cannot be delegated. A glossary provides quick access to definitions for all key terms. UPDATED! Patient Safety and Quality chapter describes how quality and safety apply to the nurse, and includes a new skill on fall prevention in healthcare settings. NEW content addresses the Affordable Care Act, patients'' perspectives on hospital care as measured by HCAHPS surveys, health disparities and vulnerable populations, compassion fatigue, pain assessment, patient education techniques like teach-back, new equipment, Healthy People 2020, and more. NEW! Additional alternate-item review questions include at least four alternate-item questions - multiple select, sequencing/priority, delegation, hot-spot images, and fill-in-the blank for medications - for every chapter. Expanded Building Competency boxes help you apply QSEN (Quality & Safety Education for Nurses) competencies to realistic clinical situations. UPDATED! Unique Evidence-Based Practice boxes in every chapter include a PICO question - the Problem, Intervention, Comparison, and Outcome - and summarize a research study along with its application to nursing practice. Over 100 NEW photos clarify procedures and familiarize you with the latest clinical equipment.
Study Guide for Fundamentals of Nursing [NURS 212 & 231] by
Get the most from your fundamentals education with the Study Guide for Fundamentals of Nursing, 9th Edition! Corresponding to the chapters in Fundamentals of Nursing, 9th Edition, this study guide helps reinforce your understanding of key nursing concepts through review questions, exercises, and learning activities. Also included are online skills checklists that walk you through all of the nursing procedures found in your fundamentals text. Comprehensive understanding sections help you master the content through detailed coverage of each chapter. Multiple-choice review questions evaluate your understanding of key chapter content. Critical thinking exercises help you develop a framework for learning fundamentals concepts. Preliminary readings refer back to related chapters in Fundamentals of Nursing, 9th Edition. NEW! Additional critical thinking models visually clarify case study takeaways. UPDATED! Content mirrors new information in Fundamentals of Nursing, 9th Edition.
Professional Nursing [NURS 221 & 350] by
Appropriate for use in early courses in baccalaureate curricula; in RN-to-BSN and RN-to-MSN courses; and as a resource for practicing nurses and graduate students, Professional Nursing: Concepts & Challenges, 8th Edition equips students and new nurses to positively impact their careers and the nursing profession. This leading text details what it means to be a professional nurse - the history, values and standards, and commitment to life-long learning. This edition features new information on QSEN, Electronic Health Record information, the effect of social media in nursing, and updated information on the Affordable Care Act. Valuable learning aids throughout every chapter include: case studies, cultural challenges, evidence-based practice, critical thinking, interviews, professional profiles, historical notes, nursing research, concepts & challenges, and ideas for further exploration. This edition discusses the current state of the nursing profession, standards and scope of practice, transition into professional practice, health care delivery systems, and future challenges for the nursing profession. Evidence-based Practice boxes highlight problems identified in patient care, the nursing researcher's questions and research, the results of that research, and the resultant recommendations for care. Considering Culture boxes highlight the impact of culture on the way in which nurses fulfill their roles and the way in which patients experience healthcare. Interview boxes explore the issues of culture and faith from the perspectives of leaders in those fields. Thinking Critically Challenges present questions or scenarios for in-depth consideration of relevant issues. Case Study boxes feature scenarios involving relevant issues in patient care. Discusses the implications of social media on nursing, including ethics and boundaries. Historical Notes highlight little-known stories of heroisms in the nursing profession. Key terms are bolded where defined in the text. A Glossary is included at the end of the text. Learning outcomes are presented at the chapter openings. Concepts and Challenges and Ideas for Further Exploration at the end of the chapters help you in review and test prep. EXPANDED! Additional QSEN information helps develop your knowledge, skills, and attitudes. NEW! Electronic Health Record information readies you to electronically keep track of patients' medical records. EXPANDED! Additional information on evidence-based practice prepares you to make more informed decisions about patient care. UPDATED! Additional information on national patient safety goals keeps you current. EXPANDED! More content on stressors and work/life balance, so you know what to expect upon entering the workforce. NEW! Updated information on the Affordable Care Act keeps you in the know. EXPANDED! Additional content on workplace issues helps eliminate some surprises down the line. NEW! Professional Profile boxes spotlight individuals in the field. NEW! Nurses Doing Research boxes give insight into nursing experiences
Clinical Nursing Skills and Techniques [NURS 231] by
Get the best skills guidance on the market with Clinical Nursing Skills & Techniques, 9th Edition. Known for its clear and comprehensive coverage of over 200 basic, intermediate and advanced skills, this widely respected, bestselling text features nearly 1,000 full-color photographs and drawings, a nursing process framework, step-by-step instructions with rationales, and a focus on critical thinking and evidence-based practice. This edition also includes new coverage of patient-centered care and safety guidelines, an enhanced emphasis on QSEN core competencies, and an expanded clinical focus with specialized Clinical Debriefs, Teach-Back, and sample documentation throughout. Written by the highly respected author team of Anne Griffin Perry, Patricia A. Potter, and Wendy Ostendorf, this text offers all the guidance and tools you need to perform nursing skills with complete confidence! Comprehensive coverage includes 211 basic, intermediate, and advanced nursing skills. Coverage of QSEN core competencies incorporates the areas of delegation and collaboration; reporting and recording; safety guidelines; and teaching, pediatric, geriatric, and home care considerations into lessons. UNIQUE! Using Evidence in Nursing Practice chaptercovers the entire process of conducting research, including collecting, evaluating, and applying evidence from published research. Expert team of authors and contributors include some of the most respected individuals in the nursing field. UNIQUE! Unexpected Outcomes and Related Interventions sections highlight what might go wrong and how to appropriately intervene. Framework on the five-step nursing process gives context for specific skills and their role within overall client care. Streamlined procedural guidelines format makes it easy learn and review basic nursing skills. Clinical Decision Points within skills address key safety issues or possible skill modifications for specific patient needs. Rationales for each skill step incorporate the latest research findings and explain why steps are performed in a specific way, including their clinical significance and benefit. Video clip icons indicate video clips that are related to skills and procedures in the book and related lessons in Nursing Skills Online. Online checklists and video clips may be downloaded to mobile devices. NEW! Clinical Debriefs are case-based review questions at the end of each chapter that focus on issues such as managing conflict, care prioritization, patient safety, and decision-making. NEW! Streamlined theory content in each chapter features a quick, easy-to-read bullet format to help reduce repetition and emphasize the clinical focus of the book. NEW! Sample documentation for every skill often includes notes by exception in the SBAR format. NEW! SI units and using generic drug names are used throughout the text to ensure content is appropriate for Canadian nurses as well.
Medical-Surgical Nursing: Concepts for Inter-professional Collaborative Care [NURS 231 & 321] by
Healthcare is evolving at an incredible pace and with it, the roles and responsibilities of the medical-surgical nurse. Ensure you are fully equipped to thrive and adapt in this ever-changing nursing environment with Ignatavicius, Workman, and Rebar's Medical-Surgical Nursing: Concepts for Interprofessional Collaborative Care, 9th Edition. This trendsetting text not only covers all essential adult health knowledge, but also reinforces the application, conceptual thinking, and clinical judgment skills that today's nurses need to stay one step ahead in delivering exceptional patient care, no matter the environment. As with previous "Iggy" editions, you'll find a unique collaborative care approach to adult health nursing, a thorough integration of QSEN competencies, extensive NCLEX® Exam preparation, and a direct, reader-friendly tone throughout the text. This ninth edition incorporates two emerging and complementary trends - the Core Competencies for Interprofessional Collaborative Practice and a more conceptual approach teaching and learning - areas that will ground you in how to think like a nurse and how to apply the knowledge you gain from the text to clinical practice. There are a lot of med-surg nursing texts out there, but there's only one that combines all the information, concepts, and on-the-job realities in a way that makes perfect sense: "Iggy!" Trendsetting QSEN integration emphasizes patient safety and evidence-based practice with Nursing Safety Priority boxes, including Drug Alerts, Critical Rescues, and Action Alerts. UNIQUE! Emphasis on clinical judgment helps you develop skills in clinical reasoning and clinical decision-making when applying concepts to clinical situations. Strong emphasis on NCLEX Exam preparation includes chapter-opening Learning Outcomes and chapter-ending Get Ready for the NCLEX Examination! sections organized by NCLEX Client Needs Categories, plus NCLEX Examination Challenge questions, with an answer key in the back of the book and on the Evolve companion website. Exceptionally readable content features shorter sentences, straightforward vocabulary, and a direct, reader-friendly writing style. NEW! Enhanced emphasis on conceptual teaching and learning features a strong integration of nursing concepts and exemplars throughout the book via new concept overview chapters, chapter-opening concept lists, and a focus on concept exemplars within disorders chapters. NEW! Integration of interprofessional collaborative practice takes the book's hallmark collaborative management approach to the next level via new collaboration-focused Clinical Judgment Challenges, integration of a new Teamwork & Interprofessional Collaboration concept, and in-depth integration within TEACH lesson plans. NEW! Deeper integration of Tanner's model of clinical nursing judgment utilizes Tanner's terminology within nursing process headings, NCLEX Examination Challenge questions, and Key Points. NEW! Stronger emphasis on health promotion and community-based care includes revised and updated content throughout the text to reflect the reality that most adult health care no longer takes place as long-term stays in high-acuity settings. NEW! More consistent, interprofessional terminology for patient problems promotes interprofessional collaboration through the promotion of a common healthcare language. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the most recent changes in practice and the latest evidence-based guidelines, particularly national and international treatment guidelines and protocols. NEW! More consistent learning outcomes now incorporate QSEN and nursing concepts in a more consistent and intentional manner from chapter to chapter.
Williams' Basic Nutrition and Diet Therapy - Binder Ready by
Case studies with accompanying questions for analysis in the clinical care chapters focus your attention on related patient care problems. Cultural Considerations boxes discuss how a patient's culture can affect nutritional concepts in practice. Clinical Applications and For Further Focus boxes highlight timely topics and analyze concepts and trends in depth. Bulleted chapter summaries review highlights from the chapter and help you see how the chapter contributes to the book's "big picture." Diet therapy guidelines include recommendations, restrictions, and sample diets for major clinical conditions. Drug-Nutrient Interactions boxes highlight important safety information and cover topics such as nutritional supplements for athletics, drugs interfering with vitamin absorption, and over-the-counter weight loss aids. Key terms and definitions clarify terminology and concepts critical to your understanding and application of the material.
Saunders Nursing Guide to Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests [NURS 241] by
This complete lab book contains the latest information on testing organized A-Z for quick reference. It is both student-friendly and provides great information for practicing nurses. . Significance of Test Results sections list the diseases and disorders that are associated with abnormal findings and Test Result Indications sections list the possible clinical significance of abnormal findings. . Tests are presented in a format that emphasizes the nurse's role, and includes Basics the Nurse Needs to Know and Nursing Care. . The clinical purpose of each test is identified, and how each test is performed is clearly explained. . A pronunciation guide for the name of each test helps with difficult terminology. Alphabetical organization of the laboratory tests (featuring alphabetical thumb tabs) makes every test easy to find. Also Called sections feature synonyms and abbreviations that help you identify specific tests. Purpose of the Test states the indications of each test. Basics the Nurse Needs to Know offers an explanation of each test in clear, simple language. Normal Values in standard and SI units include variations for gender and age, where relevant. How the Test is Done succinctly describes how each test is performed. Significance of Test Results list the diseases and disorders that are associated with abnormal findings. Interfering Factors list the factors, such as drugs, herbs, and improper specimen collection and handling, that inadvertently affect test results. Nursing Care is divided into Pretest, During the Test, and Posttest, listing in detail what the nurse does in the testing process. Nursing Response to Critical Values and Nursing Response to Complications detail what you should be alert for before, during, and after the test and how to manage dangerous situations. Explicit incorporation of nursing concerns related to lab tests can only be found in this lab book. Over 50 new and updated pieces of art highlight how results are interpreted, what equipment is used, and how various techniques are performed. Over 20 new tests prepare you for the types of tests you will encounter during your clinical experience. Patient Teaching icons make crucial nursing content easy to find. New Student Resources on Evolve feature a variety of supplemental learning tools. Skills materials, including skills checklists, PDFs of skills, and brief skills video clips, help you master specimen collection and basic diagnostic procedures. Patient handouts provide practical, useable materials to make your clinical experience easier. Audio pronunciations simplify the process of learning difficult terminology.
Seidel's Guide to Physical Examination [NURS 241] by
Seidel's Guide to Physical Examination 9th Edition offers a uniquely interprofessional, patient-centered, lifespan approach to physical examination and health assessment. This new edition features an increased focus on patient safety, clinical reasoning, and evidence-based practice, along with an emphasis on the development of good communication skills and effective hands-on examination techniques. Each core chapter is organized into four sections - Anatomy and Physiology, Review of Related History, Examination and Findings, and Abnormalities - with lifespan content integrated into each area. Written by an author team comprised of advance practice nurses and physicians with specialties in the care of adults, older adults, and children, this one-of-a-kind textbook addresses health assessment and physical examination for a wide variety of disciplines. UNIQUE! Interprofessional, interdisciplinary approach, written by two advanced practice nurses and three physicians, with expertise in both pediatric and adult-geriatric health. UPDATED! Infectious outbreak content addresses the growing problem of global infectious disease outbreaks such as Zika and Ebola and the need for infection precautions. UNIQUE! Cross-references to Dains et al:Advanced Health Assessment & Clinical Diagnosis in Primary Care help you take "the next step" in your clinical reasoning abilities and provides a more seamless user experience. UNIQUE! Compassionate, patient-centered approach emphasizes developing good communication skills, use of effective hands-on examination techniques, and reliance on clinical reasoning and clinical decision-making. Integrated lifespan content includes separate sections in each chapter on Infants and Children, Adolescents, Pregnant Women, and Older Adults. NEW! Emphasis on clinical reasoning provides insights and clinical expertise to help you develop clinical judgment skills. NEW! Enhanced emphasis on patient safety and healthcare quality, particularly as it relates to sports participation. NEW! Content on documentation has been updated with a stronger focus on electronic charting (EHR/EMR). NEW! Enhanced social inclusiveness and patient-centeredness incorporates LGBTQ patients and providers, with special a emphasis on cultural competency, history-taking, and special considerations for examination of the breasts, female and male genitalia, reproductive health, thyroid, and anus/rectum/prostate. NEW! Telemedicine, virtual consults, and video interpreters content added to the Growth, Measurement, and Nutrition chapter. NEW! Improved readability with a clear, straightforward, and easy-to-understand writing style. NEW! Updated drawing, and photographs enhance visual appeal and clarify anatomical content and exam techniques.
Calculate with Confidence by
Learn the three major methods of drug calculation! Calculate with Confidence, 7th Edition focuses on the increasing responsibility of the nurse in medication administration, prioritizes client safety with QSEN, and includes updated content that reflects the current scope of practice. This popular text covers the ratio and proportion, formula, and dimensional analysis methods offering a step-by-step approach to the calculation and administration of drug dosages. With over 2,100 practice problems, this comprehensive title focuses on enhancing the learning experience of nursing students at all curricular levels by making content clinically applicable. Over 2000 practice problems include pre-test and comprehensive post-test review Pre-test Basic Math, Comprehensive Unit and Basic Math review tests allows you a three-part approach to evaluate your understanding of basic math material covered in Unit 1, directing you to review chapters if you miss any of these test questions. UPDATED Medication Administration chapter includes medication safety, expansion of discussion on client rights, the basic six rights of medication administration, and routes of medication administration. Chapter review problems and answer key tests all major topics presented in the chapter and enables you to assess understanding of chapter content. Safety Alert boxes highlight issues that may lead to mediation errors and empower you to identify actions that must be taken to avoid calculation errors. NEW! Content additions and updates includes word problems involving dosages, Critical Thinking Scenarios, a discussion of the concepts regarding safety issues with medication administration and calculation, plus significant updates in the insulin, critical care, parenteral medication, and heparin chapters. NEW! A-Z medication index references page numbers where the drug labels can be found. NEW! Medication labels recently added to the market highlights new and updated information relevant to practice.
ECGs and the Heart by
This readable and student-friendly guide simplifies and clearly explains the heart and how it works. The principles of ECG interpretation are explained to help students understand ECG rhythm and its relationship to cardiac electrophysiology. This new edition features over 100 NCLEX® examination-style questions and provides 2-3 rhythm strips at the end of most chapters, plus 30 more at the end of the book for additional testing and review. Unique presentation of content allows students to survive and thrive. Material is presented using adult learning principles and various active-learning strategies to engage nursing students of all ages, backgrounds, and learning styles. Consistent chapter format breaks down information into small units and reinforces an effective thinking process. Special icons for Lifespan Considerations, Cultural Implications, Web Links, and Cautions help the student quickly identify special content in the chapter. Memory-reinforcing interactive activities (including fill-in the blank, matching, word jumbles, true/false, and crossword puzzles) promote student learning. Clinical terms and shorthand expressions are highlighted in parentheses to expose students to terminology that they will hear in the hospital setting. Boxed Take Home Points provide the benefit of years of nursing experience that students can use to prepare for their clinical rotation. Original cartoon-character illustrations walk the student through difficult subjects with a lighthearted approach. Cover design and series title better identifies the series as a fun and simple review. What You Will Learn section provides chapter objectives for the reader to aid their navigation through the chapters. Over 100 NCLEX® examination-style review questions have been moved to the ends of chapters to immediately test student knowledge. 2-3 rhythm strips at the end of most chapters for students to practice interpretating. Two completely new chapters on Normal Sinus Rhythm and Idioventricular Rhythms. Rhythm Strip Test, containing 30 ECG strips, included at the end of the book to test students' knowledge.
Flip and See ECG by
When it comes to learning ECG interpretation, there's simply no faster or easier way to master basic rhythms than this unique book. Using a fun and easy-to-understand writing style, this updated new edition uses humor, cartoons, and personal stories to walk you through the entire ECG process: from finding a heartbeat, to monitoring an electrocardiogram, to interpreting the heart rhythm. A unique Flip and See section allows you to view normal ECGs on one side of the page and abnormal ECGs on the other, along with concise text that clearly explains the differences between them. Plus, the completely redesigned Cohn's Pocket Guide for ECG Interpretation aids both students and practitioners in rhythm interpretation. Lay-flat spiral binding makes it easy to use anywhere, and the small size fits into a lab coat pocket. Unique Flip and See section at the end of the book allows you to see each rhythm side-by-side with a normal ECG rhythm, while a written walkthrough explains the important differences between the rhythms. Excuse Me! features highlight frequently asked student questions with easy-to-understand answers. Conversational language and clear illustrations and cartoons make the information easy to remember and fun to learn. New and updated information across the entire book includes coverage of new pacemaker strips and now includes 12-lead interpretation and 12-lead axis identification. New cartoons have been added to make key points memorable and entertaining. Updated algorithms reflect the new 2010 ECC Guidelines. Completely redesigned Cohn's Pocket Guide for ECG Interpretation, a plastic heart rate ruler, aids both students and practitioners in rhythm interpretation. Expanded appendix provides illustrations of ECG complexes as they relate to heart damage.
Maternal and Child Nursing Care [NURS 404] by
For courses in maternal and child nursing care in any nursing programAs nursing courses are shortened and clinical experiences become more limited, time is increasingly precious to both students and faculty. Designed to support faster, more efficient learning in condensed courses, Maternal & Child Nursing Care presents key content about maternal-newborn nursing, women's health, and pediatric nursing topics in an accurate, readable way. Throughout this family-focused text, special attention is paid to health promotion, home/community care, patient and family education, clinical reasoning, evidence-based practice, and cultural competence. Engaging features help readers learn and retain essential concepts in a short period of time. The straightforward approach allows students to focus on what is most important-developing the essential skills and abilities to practice nursing in fast-changing healthcare environments.
Introduction to Critical Care Nursing by
Start here to master the concepts, technology, and procedures of critical care nursing! Introduction to Critical Care Nursing, 8th Edition prepares you to provide safe, effective, patient-centered care in a variety of high-acuity, progressive, and critical care settings. Evidence-based coverage includes realistic case studies and incorporates the latest advances in critical care. Disorders are conveniently organized by body system or special situation, and nursing management chapters include quick-reference nursing care plans. This clear, concise textbook will help you develop the knowledge and clinical reasoning skills needed for success in today''s highly complex critical care environments. Critical Reasoning Activities are included throughout the text, promoting development of clinical nursing judgment to help you prepare for the Next-Generation NCLEX-RN® Exam. Emphasis on QSEN competencies enables you to gain the knowledge, skills, and attitudes needed to provide safe, high-quality health care in a variety of high acuity, progressive, and critical care settings. Evidence-Based Practice boxes illustrate how research evidence is used to address problems in patient care and includes nursing implications plus AACN''s new system for Levels of Evidence: A, B, C, D, E, and M. Universal Collaborative Plan of Care for the Critically Ill Patient addresses key aspects of collaborative/interprofessional care that apply to virtually all critically ill patients. Individual Plans of Care prepare you for clinical practice by describing patient problems, patient outcomes, and nursing assessments and interventions with rationales. Case studies challenge you to apply concepts to the real world, testing your clinical nursing judgment by asking questions about patient-specific cases with lab results. Clinical Alerts highlight potential problems and concerns to improve patient safety and clinical care. Laboratory Alerts emphasize the importance of laboratory test results to critical care nursing. Medication tables show the actions/usages, indications, dosages/routes, side effects, and nursing implications of medications commonly used in critical care settings. Coverage of cardiac assistive devices includes the ECMO device for extracorporeal life support, as well as other small, portable, bedside cardiac-assistive devices. Hemodynamic monitoring content now emphasizes the noninvasive methods of hemodynamic monitoring that are becoming more prominent. Coverage of infection control addresses the QSEN safety competency and helps provide patient protection against the growing threat of drug-resistant infections. Nearly 300 full-color photographs and drawings visually clarify key concepts and equipment for better understanding of today''s complex critical care environment. NEW! Study Break questions in multiple-choice format break up the chapters into easy-to-read content "chunks" and make it easy to check your understanding, with answers and rationales in the back of the book. NEW! Transplant Considerations boxes highlight essential information related to patient care in preparation for organ transplantation, managing complications, and preventing rejection; coverage of palliative care supports the text''s strong focus on end-of-life care; and the revised Organ Donation chapter focuses on a practical evaluation of dying patients for organ donation and preservation. UPDATED! Illustrations include photos of state-of-the art equipment to familiarize you with the modern, high-tech critical care environment. NEW! Emphasis on patient problems (in lieu of NANDA diagnoses) promotes interprofessional collaborative practice by using terms that are easily understood by various members of the healthcare team. NEW! Enhanced, application-level questions on the companion Evolve website emphasize prompt recognition of changing trends in patient parameters. UPDATED! Lifespan Considerations boxes now include information on older adults, addressing the "graying of our population," and pregnant women. UPDATED! Genetics boxes feature a new Genetic Concepts box.