LibGuides: Political Science: Find News, Law, Video

More Sources

NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from Tennessee newspapers, US newspapers, newswires, news blogs, web published newspapers, transcripts from network news (60 minutes, CBS, Fox, NPR, PBS), and major news magazines.
Access World News Research Collection (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources from around the world.
International Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives including newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format.
Tennessean (Nashville, Tenn.) 2002-Current (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Local and regional news from Nashville and Tennessee. Note: Defaults to 2002-Current coverage. Click on Change Databases link to add coverage from 1912-2002.

For more information on news sources, including current and historical newspapers, evaluating news, and information on fake news and social media, check out our News Sources Guide.

News Sources
by Samuel Richardson Last Updated Jan 9, 2023 105 views this year

War and Terrorism Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window
For students of history, social science and current events, providing insight into conflicts and their multiple causes.
Gun Regulation and Legislation (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
A platform for research and civil discourse on the issues related to gun regulation.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Covers the most important and controversial issues of the day. Each issue provides a comprehensive overview, background info, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and extensive lists of sources and hot-linked footnotes throughout.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.

Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Our premier database for legal cases and decisions. Provides access to both primary (cases, statutes, codes, constitutions) and secondary publications (encyclopedia, legal commentary, journals and guides) in law.

UN Documentation: International Law
Guide to treaties, tribunals, and topics in international law.
EU Law
Case laws, treaties, international acts, stats, and other legislation by the European Union.
Tennessee Code Unannotated
Laws for the state of TN. Everything from elections to public officers and services to holidays to motor vehicles. Use the +/- buttons on the left side of the screen to reveal subcategories and click on what you need.

Streaming Video

Archival Films & Newsreels Collection This link opens in a new window
Thousands of historically significant videos from 1919-1968, such as the Hindenburg explosion, the moon landing, Martin Luther King, Jr.'s I Have a Dream speech and much more.
AVON: Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers almost 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Over 7,000 academic-level educational streaming videos covering most subject areas.

Political Science

Political Science Journals

Quick Links

More Sources

Streaming Video