It can seem overwhelming when you have to choose from our hundreds of databases, so we've made it easier by selecting a few databases that work best for your general subject.
Feel free to tinker with your search parameters and all the helpful limiting options when you start searching in these databases. Online research is a little bit like online shopping - you'll need to explore and narrow down your options as you go.
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Literature Criticism Online brings together the Contemporary Literary Criticism and Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800 series representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Multiple search options are combined with an engaging format that matches the look and feel of the print originals.
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements.
Presents facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials.
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words past and presentfrom across the English-speaking world.
If you're not ready to jump into a database just yet, and would like more grounding in your topic, check out the Research Starter link below.
You can find print books available for check out on the second floor of the library. You can find reference books (things like encyclopedias and dictionaries) on the first floor. And you can find electronic books through PML Search and some of our online databases. Take a look at the sampling of books we have to offer below.
For many of our electronic books, you can print out a limited number of pages or a chapter (if you want to take notes on the document). You can also search within ebooks for keywords or phrases - this can save you time if you're trying to track down information in large sources.
Sacred Seeds: New World Plants in Early Modern English Literature by 
Cyclopedia of Literary Places by 
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics by 
Scribes of Space: Place in Middle English Literature and Late Medieval Science by 
The Oxford Handbook of the Age of Shakespeare by 
The Victorian World: A Historical Exploration of Literature by 