This guide provides much for C.J. majors: databases relevant to criminal justice: books, eBooks, and media relevant to the major, government resources, statistical databases, resources on special topics, as well as APA style formatting.
Careers in Law Enforcement by Coy H. JohnstonA resource for students considering a career in the criminal justice field, specifically in policing. There are 3 sections: planning a realistic path, selecting an appropriate career path in law enforcement, and preparing for the hiring process.
Call Number: HV8143 .J6424 2017
Publication Date: 2016
Exploring and Understanding Careers in Criminal Justice by Rainville, Rainville & SheridanA practical and comprehensive guide explaining the extensive operations and the scope of employment possibilities and and opportunities in the criminal justice profession. This book covers many criminal justice functions and career paths that are seldom discussed when preparing for a career in criminal justice. This work focuses on how to obtain employment in a career field that fits personal strengths and aspirations, as well as emphasizing the value of internships and service learning as tools to obtain the desired position.
Call Number: HV 9950 .R35 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Careers in Criminal Justice by W. Richard StephensThis set of biographies of Criminal Justice professionals helps readers answer the often-asked question, "What can I do with a degree in Criminal Justice?" The book provides meaningful answers to a specific, targeted audience - typical readers who are taking their first criminal justice course. The biographies are organized by various sub-fields and include discussions of what can be done with a B.A., M.A., Ph.D., or a combination of degrees. For anyone interested in, or studying, criminal justice.
Call Number: HV8143 .S845 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Federal Law Enforcement Careers by Thomas H. AckermanThis is THE definitive guide for handling the FBIOCOs rigorous selection process and successfully landing a job for special agents as well as professional support personnel. Includes great tips on how to stand out from other applicants, completing sample applications and making them attractive, along with explanations of other forms encountered by aspiring FBI agents. Also includes tips on getting FBI internships an excellent way to OC get a foot in the door.OCO The author is an experienced federal law enforcement officer, trainer, and sought-after speaker. The new edition adds 32 pages, including updates to salary scales, more detailed information about the all-important interview, tips on preparing for the new physical fitness test that applicants must take, a discussion of the FBIOCOs change of mission toward homeland security and counterterrorism, added professional support position profiles, coverage of the FBI's eight new internship programs, and much more."
Call Number: Electronic Book
Publication Date: 2006
Careers in Criminal Justice - Occupational Handbook