From the Films on Demand database, this streaming video collection includes 39 short clips and full length videos (ranging from 1 to 55 minutes). Includes videos like Vermonters Turning Manure Into Energy and The Greenhouse of the Future.
Scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies. The database includes diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.
Includes all ASABE (American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers) technical information, including journals from 1972-present and other technical publications from 2001-present like standards, meeting and conference papers, textbooks, and monographs
Contains more than 4.8 million bibliographic citations of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library from 1970 to the present
Differing views present each side of an issue. Exclusive Viewpoint pages bring balance and perspective to every controversy using targeted arguments from recognized subject-matter experts and top journalistic sources.
Each issue provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and list of major research and advocacy groups. Includes extensive lists of sources and hot-linked footnotes throughout.
Encyclopedias and Reference
Below, you will find encyclopedias and other background research related to agriculture. These background sources can help you:
Get ideas for a research topic,
Understand the background and history of a particular topic
Place your topic into a broad cultural context
These reference materials can all be accessed online. I can also help you find additional reference materials.
Illustrated reference work about the many edible plants we grow in our gardens, buy in our shops, and consume cooked or raw, either on their own or as part of a recipe. All plants are illustrated in colour with emphasis on the edible parts, while the text entries give reliable information about each plant, its historical and current uses, and its nutritional value.
Topics include mental illness and moral agency, the rule of double effect,justice and the elderly, the definition of death, organ transplantation, feminist approaches to commodification of the body, life extension, advance directives, physician-assisted death, abortion, genetic research, population screening, enhancement, research ethics, and the implications of public and global health for bioethics.