LibGuides: Women's and Gender Studies: Research & Sources

It can seem overwhelming when you have to choose from our hundreds of databases, so we've made it easier by selecting a few databases that work best for your general subject.

Feel free to tinker with your search parameters and all the helpful limiting options when you start searching in these databases. Online research is a little bit like online shopping - you'll need to explore and narrow down your options as you go.

Women's and Gender Studies research is interdisciplinary by nature, so you'll want to explore a variety of resources. The following are just a few examples of databases that can prove useful.

Databases A to Z
This is a listing of over 200 databases available via the Paul Meek Library website. You can find databases of articles, images, ebooks, and more. You can also limit by subject or vendor.

Gender Studies Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Gender Studies Collection provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Social Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Research covering topics in sociology, social work, anthropology, and politics.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window
As a major international publisher of academic and research journals, Oxford Journals publishes and develops titles in partnership with the world's most prestigious learned societies. Includes Cambridge Journal of Economics and many more.

If you're not ready to jump into a database just yet, and would like more grounding in your topic, check out the Research Starter links below.

Gender: Research Starters Topic
This research starter has a very brief introduction to the concept of gender but does include several links to additional research starters approaching the topic of gender from various perspectives.
LGBTQ: Research Starters Topic
Resource connecting to related Research Starter topics, literature, history, and health
Feminism: Research Starters Topic
A brief definition of feminism, a short historical overview, and additional resources.

You can find print books available for check out on the second floor of the library. You can find reference books (things like encyclopedias and dictionaries) on the first floor. And you can find electronic books through PML Search and some of our online databases. Take a look at the sampling of books we have to offer below.

For many of our electronic books, you can print out a limited number of pages or a chapter (if you want to take notes on the document). You can also search within ebooks for keywords or phrases - this can save you time if you're trying to track down information in large sources.

A History of Early Modern Women's Literature by Patricia Phillippy (Editor)
Call Number: PR113 .H57 2018
ISBN: 9781107137066
Publication Date: 2018
This collaborative book of twenty-two chapters offers an expansive, multifaceted narrative of British women's literary and textual production in the period stretching from the English Reformation to the Restoration. Chapters work together to trace the contours of a diverse body of early modern women's writing, aligning women's texts with the major literary, political, and cultural currents with which they engage.
A Seat at the Table: congresswomen's perspectives on why their presence matters by Kira Sanbonmatsu; Kelly Dittmar; Susan J. Carroll
Call Number: HQ1236.5.U6 D577 2018
ISBN: 9780190915728
Publication Date: 2018
The presence of women in Congress is at an all-time high - approximately one of every five members is female - and record numbers of women are running for public office for the 2018 midterms. At the same time, Congress is more polarized than ever, and little research exists on how women inCongress view their experiences and contributions to American politics today. Drawing on personal interviews with over three-quarters of the women serving in the 114th Congress, the authors analyze how these women navigate today's stark partisan divisions, and whether they feel effective in their jobs.
The Gender Effect: capitalism, feminism, and the corporate politics of development by Kathryn Moeller
Call Number: HG4028.C6 M64 2018
ISBN: 9780520286382
Publication Date: 2018
How and why are U.S. transnational corporations investing in the lives, educations, and futures of poor, racialized girls and women in the Global South? Is it a solution to ending poverty? Or is it a pursuit of economic growth and corporate profit? Drawing on more than a decade of research in the United States and Brazil, this book focuses on how the philanthropic, social responsibility, and business practices of various corporations use a logic of development that positions girls and women as instruments of poverty alleviation and new frontiers for capitalist accumulation.
The Oxford Handbook of Gender and Conflict by Fionnuala Ní Aoláin (Editor); Naomi Cahn (Editor); Dina Francesca Haynes (Editor); Nahla Valji (Editor)
Call Number: JZ6405.W66 O94 2018 (in Reference)
ISBN: 9780199300983
Publication Date: 2018
The Oxford Handbook of Gender and Conflict focuses on the multidimensionality of gender in conflict, yet it also prioritizes the experience of women, given both the changing nature of war and the historical de-emphasis on women's experiences. Today's wars are not staged encounters involving formal armies, but societal wars that operate at all levels, from house to village to city. Women are necessarily involved at each level. Operating from this basic intellectual foundation, the editors have arranged the volume into seven core sections: the theoretical foundations of the role of gender inviolent conflicts; the sources for studying contemporary conflict; the conflicts themselves; the post-conflict process; institutions and actors; the challenges presented by the evolving nature of war; and, finally, a substantial set of case studies from across the globe.

Women's Center Website
This link will take you to the UTM Women's Center website. You can find information about upcoming events, speakers, and various resources.
Women's Student Alliance (WSA)
Find out more about the WSA at this link. The Women's Student Alliance at UTM promotes education and social initiatives. The group works with the Women's Center to provide programs and services that empower and inform.

Women's and Gender Studies

Schedule a Research Appointment

Quick Links