It can seem overwhelming when you have to choose from our hundreds of databases, so we've made it easier by selecting a few databases that work best for your general subject.
Feel free to tinker with your search parameters and all the helpful limiting options when you start searching in these databases. Online research is a little bit like online shopping - you'll need to explore and narrow down your options as you go.
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities
Provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
As a major international publisher of academic and research journals, Oxford Journals publishes and develops titles in partnership with the world's most prestigious learned societies. Includes Cambridge Journal of Economics and many more.
If you're not ready to jump into a database just yet, and would like more grounding in your topic, check out the Research Starter links below.
You can find print books available for check out on the second floor of the library. You can find reference books (things like encyclopedias and dictionaries) on the first floor. And you can find electronic books through PML Search and some of our online databases. Take a look at the sampling of books we have to offer below.
For many of our electronic books, you can print out a limited number of pages or a chapter (if you want to take notes on the document). You can also search within ebooks for keywords or phrases - this can save you time if you're trying to track down information in large sources.
Babel: around the world in twenty languages by 
Four Words for Friend: Why Using More Than One Language Matters Now More Than Ever by 
A Reference Grammar of French by 
Diccionario de la Lengua Espanola by 
Japanese Verbs and Essentials of Grammar by The sources below are freely available on the web. If you need additional resources outside of class, consider these options.
