These stories reveal candid snapshots of the legal system -- both past and present. Identical twins are tried for a string of murders. A man resorts to prostitution to alleviate the debt brought about by divorce proceedings. A convict flees his trial by stealing the judge's car. A prosecutor tries the nation's first school-shooting case. Judge George Balitsaris, a former UT football player, escorts a special prosecutor out of a notorious rape trial as a precaution after the defendant's family issues threats. These recollections shed light on the tense and often dangerous lives of those who work to see that all receive fair representation and treatment in court.
Of the 1.65 million lawsuits enforcing federal laws over the past decade, 3 percent were prosecuted by the federal government, while 97 percent were litigated by private parties. Why did private plaintiff-driven litigation become a dominant model for enforcing federal regulation? Sean Farhang argues that Congress deliberately cultivates such private lawsuits partly as a means of enforcing its will. Using data from many policy areas spanning the twentieth century, and historical analysis focused on civil rights, this book investigates how American political institutions shape the strategic design of legislation and mobilize private lawsuits to apply policy.
This publication addresses the significant ways in which the Latinx populations have shaped the political, legal, and social institutions of the United States, with new and updated scholarship on political movements and organisations, important legal cases, minority-rights laws, and immigration legislation.
Draws upon the expertise of over 700 scholars and practitioners, offering the widest possible range of perspectives on legal topics. Includes the fundamentals of all the major areas of law such as criminal law, tax and social security law, human rights law, family and employment law, education law, sports law, international and EU law; the role of legal institutions such as parliaments, courts, law schools, and international bodies; leading cases, famous trials and distinguished lawyers; and major events in legal history.
This encyclopedia brings together an unparalleled wealth of information about the laws, institutions, and actors that have governed America throughout its history. The book provides an invaluable and in-depth overview of the development of America's political and legal frameworks.
Constitutional scholar and Columbia Law School professor E. Allan Farnsworth provides a clear explanation of the structure and function of the U.S. legal system in one handy reference.
Reference Print Books
The Oxford Handbook of American Sports Law by Michael A. McCann
Call Number: Ref 1st Floor KF3989 .M325 2018
The Oxford Handbook of American Sports Law takes the reader through the most important controversies and critical developments in law and U.S. sports. This book incorporates analysis of key historical events in sports law-such as the rise of free agency in professional sports and the concept of "amateurism" for college athletes -and their broader context.
The Oxford Handbook of Financial Regulation by Niamh Moloney, Eilís Ferran & Jennifer Payne
Call Number: Ref 1st Floor K1066 .O946 2015
Written by an international team of leading scholars in the field, it takes a contextual and comparative approach to examine scholarly, policy, and regulatory developments in the past three decades. Includes info on economic development, crises, regional institutions, the role of gatekeepers, financial stability, and regulation.
The Oxford Handbook of Corporate Law and Governance by Jeffrey N. Gordon & Wolf-Georg Ringe
Call Number: Ref 1st Floor K1315 .O94 2018
This book examines central theoretical approaches and methodologies in corporate law, core substantive topics in corporate law, shareholder rights, minority rights, new challenges in the field, conflicts between Western and Asian corporate governance environments, the rise of foreign ownership, emerging markets, and financial regulation.
The Oxford Handbook of Legal History by Markus D. Dubber (Editor); Christopher Tomlins (Editor)
Call Number: Ref 1st Floor K150 .O94 2018
Includes an overview of legal history and several examples of legal history in action, including its use in various legal doctrinal contexts.