Music

This guide is a collection of Open Access resources in music. Open Access content is free and does not require payment or a login to use. Here you will find links to music scores, streaming content, articles, and open access books and textbooks. There are also interactive sites to help improve your music skills and develop your musical ear.

A Guide to More than 11,000 Print and Internet Music Reference Resources.

Current material available in the Digital Archives includes:

3,000+ scores marked by Leonard Bernstein, Andre Kostelanetz, and others
36,000+ music parts marked by Philharmonic musicians
14,000+ printed programs
9,000+ business and planning folders
50,000+ photographs and images

This guide describes digital collections of web archives related to the performing arts, how to navigate the collections, potential research questions, and how web archives relate to Music Division holdings.

Songwriters, musicians, and music enthusiasts trust American Songwriter to be their authentic home for the latest news, information, and coaching from the music industry. Dedicated to the Craft of Music and supporting the songwriter community for the past 35 years, American Songwriter is an international website, magazine, and podcast network.

This is a living collection of books, articles, documentaries, series, podcasts and more about the Black origins of traditional and popular music dating from the 18th century to present day.

As the international index of visual sources of music, dance, theatre and opera, RIdIM has pursued dual aims since its establishment: firstly, it is charged with the cataloguing of visual sources of subject matters referring to music, dance, theatre and opera; and, secondly, it functions as a framework for their interpretation. Thus, the main objective of RIdIM is the development of methods, means and research centres for the classification, cataloguing and study of iconographical sources related to music, dance, theatre and opera. It is designed to assist performers, historians, librarians, instrument makers, record manufacturers and book publishers, among others in making the fullest use of visual materials for scholarly and practical purposes.

RISM is the largest and only globally operating organization that documents written musical sources.
RISM establishes what is available and where it is kept.

Music Business Worldwide (MBW) is the leading information service for the global music industry.
Established in 2015, MBW provides news, insight and jobs to the worldwide business.

The collection includes over 3,000 items published or created for use in silent film accompaniment between 1904 - 1927. These items include scores written for specific films, cue sheets that compile melodies for use at certain moments in specific films, and stock music composed or arranged for general use in silent film. Scores and arrangements included in this collection include piano scores, full or reduced orchestral scores, instrumental parts, or just melodic incipits.

Free lessons, exercises and tools for learning music theory.

"The American Musicological Society's purpose is to advance scholarship in the various fields of music through research, learning, and teaching. To do this, it publishes a Journal and a blog, holds an Annual Meeting, supports books in musicology, and offers a broad array of grants, fellowships, and awards throughout the year."

"The International Association of Music Information Centres (IAMIC) is a worldwide network of organizations that document, promote, and/or provide in-depth information about the music of their country or region over a wide variety of musical genres, including (contemporary) classical music, world music, jazz and pop."

"Founded in 1955, the Society for Ethnomusicology is a global, interdisciplinary network of individuals and institutions engaged in the study of music across all cultural contexts and historical periods."

"The Society for Music Theory promotes the development of and engagement with music theory as a scholarly and pedagogical discipline."

"The Golden Pages provide announcements for forthcoming conferences in musicology and related disciplines, an archive of dissertation abstracts, links to music departments worldwide, and other links of interest to musicologists."

This site has been archived and is no longer updated (which means some of the links are broken), however, there are still many useful links to sites of interest to those who love music.