8. Networking and resource sharing
The goals of resource sharing are to provide a positive net effect on the Library’s users in terms of accessing more materials or services, and on the Library’s budget in terms of providing increased service at level cost, or more service at less cost than if undertaken individually. In some cases, such as heavily used materials or items that are cheaper to buy than borrow, ownership may be preferable to resource sharing. In other cases, the format may not be appropriate for interlibrary loans due to copyright and/or library restrictions. But in general, sharing maximizes the availability of resources and minimizes expenses. In selecting materials for the Library’s collections, resource-sharing alternatives should be considered seriously.
Advances in automation result in nationally accessible bibliographic databases, some of which include library holdings. Continuing breakthroughs in networking, improvements in formats, and the electronic transmission of data make resource sharing a viable alternative to ownership of materials. Library catalogs nationwide and internationally are accessible from anywhere network access is available.
8.1 Consortia
The Library proactively exchanges resource opportunities with other institutional libraries through consortia agreements. Except as noted otherwise below, membership and participation are governed by a contract in force with the consortia administrator, renegotiated on a basis stipulated in the contract.
Lyrasis - The Library participates in LYRASIS, an organization supporting the cooperation and collaboration of librarians and information professionals in the Mid-Atlantic, Southeastern, and New England regions of the United States. LYRASIS’ services include courses and workshops professional development and group purchasing of library products and services.
Network of the National Library of Medicine - The Library participates in the health and medical-information outreach arm of the National Library of Medicine, where members provide health information resources and services to health professionals, academic communities, and the general public, under a membership registration dated 2010 Jun 21.
Tenn-Share The Library is a member of Tenn-Share, a non-profit consortium created in 1992 to meet the information needs of the citizens of Tennessee through cooperative purchasing and encouragement of the sharing of information resources by Tennessee libraries.
UTERG - The Library selectively participates with other University of Tennessee libraries in the UT E-Resources Group (UTERG) in the negotiation and participation of deals offered by vendors on electronic resources for a discount to the University of Tennessee system.
WeTALC - The Library respects the agreement between institutions participating in the West Tennessee Academic Library Consortium (WeTALC). WeTALC bylaws section 2(b) provides for reciprocal lending and use privileges to faculty, staff, and students in good standing of member institutions (http://faculty.jscc.edu/scohen/wtalc/constlaw.htm ; cited 2010 Aug 12).
8.2 Utilities
The Library is a contributing member of OCLC bibliographic utility and user group. OCLC is a multinational nonprofit membership organization facilitating the acquisition, cataloging, lending, and preservation of library materials through the use of a cooperative database of information resources.
8.3 US Depository Library program
The Library is designated as a selective depository within the United States Depository Program. As such, it receives, maintains, and provides access to US government publications in accordance with the terms of 44 USC § 19, Depository Library Program, and the current edition of the Federal Depository Library Handbook.