LibGuides: HIST 299: Primary Sources

Images, Oral Histories, and Video

ArtStor This link opens in a new window
Contains wide range of types of art (paintings, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, etc.) from ancient times to the present.
AVON: Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers almost 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

AFSC Oral History Project: Japanese-American Internment
The transcriptions of 12 in-depth interviews with Japanese-Americans and Quakers who supported them. From the American Friends Service Committee.
Ansel Adam's Photographs of Japanese American Internment
From the Library of Congress. In 1943, Adams documented the Manzanar War Relocation Center in California.
CSU Japanese American Digitization Project
Camp newsletters, yearbooks, records of military service, oral histories, photographs, and more. From California State University Archives.
Densho Digital Archive: The Japanese American Legacy Project
The Densho Digital Archive holds nearly 400 visual histories (800 hours of recorded video interviews) and over 10,000 historic photos, documents, and newspapers. Register for a free account to search the archive (takes 1-2 business days), or view selected videos, images and more in their online Learning Cent
Estelle Ishigo Collection
From the American Heritage Center at the University of Wyoming. Original drawings and sketches created by Estelle Ishigo while she was interned with her Japanese-American husband at the Heart Mountain Relocation Camp
The Family Album Project
Show pictures from the daily lives of the internees, in both the Canadian and American camps. This exhibition was curated by Professor Masumi Hayashi and exhibited at the Cleveland State University Art Gallery in Cleveland, Ohio, in March/April 1996.
Heart Mountain Relocation Center
The University of Wyoming's Heart Mountain Relocation Center collection contains photographs, letters, notes, trial transcripts, and more.
Japanese American Evacuation and Resettlement: A Digital Archive
From UC Berkeley. The digital archive makes accessible a wide range of papers, maps, artworks, and photographs.
Japanese American National Museum: Collections Online
Browse or search several documents and photographs from the museum's permanent collection. Collections include visual and written diaries as well as photographs documenting time spent in internment.
Japanese American Relocation Digital Archive (JARDA)
Photographs, drawings, documents, and memorabilia. JARDA is divided into four categories: people, places, everyday life, and personal experiences.
Japanese American World War II Evacuation Oral History Project
From the Online Archive of California. An older website without a table of contents, but presents interviews with Japanese-Americans about their experiences.
Japanese Relocation and Internment During World War II
A collection of primary source documents available from the United States National Archives. Also a listing of related websites.
Library of Congress
The Library of Congress has millions of digitized photos, maps, audio recordings, newspapers, films, and more.
If you can't find it at our library, I recommend the Library of Congress as the next step. The search box is located in the top right of each page.
A More Perfect Union: Japanese Americans & The US Constitution
Online exhibit created by the Smithsonian allows visitors to experience Japanese American internment through interactive galleries, music, text and first person accounts.
Tule Lake Oral History Project
7 video interviews with former Tule Lake internees.

Newspaper Articles

Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Gale Primary Sources allows researchers to uncover primary source documents.
New York Times (1851-2017) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Historical Nashville Tennessean (1812 - 2002) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Digital Public Library of America
Letters, newspaper clippings, photographs, government memos, interviews, and more. The Digital Public Library of America collects digitized archival sources from public libraries across the US.
Library of Congress
The Library of Congress has millions of digitized photos, maps, audio recordings, newspapers, films, and more.
If you can't find it at our library, I recommend the Library of Congress as the next step. The search box is located in the top right of each page.

Laws, Court Cases, and Government Documents

Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Gale Primary Sources allows researchers to uncover primary source documents.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Westlaw provides access to both primary (cases, statutes, codes, constitutions) and secondary publications (encyclopedia, legal commentary, journals and guides) in law.
GPO Federal Digital System (FDSYS) This link opens in a new window
Provides free online access to official Federal Government publications. Replaces GPO Access as the U.S. Government Printing Office's official system of record.

HIST 299

Quick Links

Images, Oral Histories, and Video

Newspaper Articles

Laws, Court Cases, and Government Documents

Primary vs Secondary Sources