Skip to main content

Visual and Theatre Arts: Home

Departmental links


Visit the Department of Visual and Theatre Arts

 

The mission of the Department is to provide educational, artistic and cultural opportunities for the students of the University and the people of West Tennessee.

 

Canvas

Link to the UTM course-management software site, providing class-specific syllabi, assignments, supplementary material, and other course-related resources

ILL (Borrow From Other Libraries)

PML doesn't have a copy? Article isn't available in full text? UTM students and faculty can ask the Interlibrary Loan department to find it for you. Remember to leave enough lead time!

Search @ the Library

Search the catalog for print and e-title items in the library collection

(use the "Keyword" pull-down menu to target your query to a specific data field)


(Use this separate link to search library databases for > articles < <  in journals, magazines, and select newspapers)

How to Use This Guide

This guide is intended to help students studying Theatre, Visual Arts and related subjects. This guide includes the following sections:

 

  • Art Supplies explains what art is and a few resources to buy art supplies.
  • Visual Arts Reference Books lists encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries pertinent to visual arts available in the Paul Meek Library. These types of books may be useful as you are establishing historical and theoretical background knowledge, understanding disciplinary terminology, and fact-checking.
  • Visual Arts Databases lists and describes various databases for finding journal articles. Some of the databases contain general articles on many subjects, while some are more subject specific.
  • Visual Arts Images lists sources of images of special interest to individuals in the visual arts.
  • Citing Sources
  • Dance Education lists information and links about the dance education program offered at UTM.
  • Theatre Reference Books lists encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries pertinent to theatre arts available in the Paul Meek Library. These types of books may be useful as you are establishing historical and theoretical background knowledge, understanding disciplinary terminology, and fact-checking.
  • Theatre Databases lists and describes various databases for finding journal articles. Some of the databases contain general articles on many subjects, while some are more subject specific.
  • Find a Play lists play indexes useful for locating individual plays in collections.
  • Find a Review lists indexes useful for locating reviews of plays.
  • Theatre Images lists sources of images of special interest to individuals in the theatre arts.
  • Vanguard Theatre lists information about the theatre with links to the schedules to the performances, past and present
  • Departmental Links provides  links to specific information on the Visual and Theatre Arts website.

Subject Guide

Georgia Baskett