Skip to main content

Psychology: Home

Psychology is the scientific study of human behavior and experience. Through systematic observation and research, psychologists attempt to explain how and why human beings act and react to the world around them. World of Sociology, a Gale product.

Mobile App to Paul Meek Library Catalog

For your convenience the Paul Meek Library online catalog and other library options can now be accessed on your mobile device (iPhone, Android, Blackberry, iPad, etc.) in either of the following ways.

Search @ the Library

Search the catalog for print and e-title items in the library collection

(use the "Keyword" pull-down menu to target your query to a specific data field)


(Use this separate link to search library databases for > articles < <  in journals, magazines, and select newspapers)

What are they talking about?

Libraries pay for and provide resources that are not "on the Internet." Sometimes professionals use words interchangably, but there are important differences

Abstract   Short summary of an article's methods and findings, written to help researchers decide quickly if the article is relevant to their interest

Article   Single piece of writing by one or more authors, shorter than a monograph (book), published in a periodical

Citation   Publication data for an article, which allows a reader to identify the source; sometimes accompanied by an abstract

Database   An electronic collection of publications that allows users to browse individual titles or to search many all at once. Subject databases are often very expensive and not avialable beyond campus, but they are the best way to see what has been done in a field. A database may be either an index or full-text, and might have both kinds of entries

Index   Lists of publications which may provide an abstract of an article, but does not provide complete text. Use an index to identify material the library may not own but which you may find in another database or request through ILLiad

Journal   A periodical produced for specialists in a particular field, often produced by a scholarly society or academic school; almost always peer reviewed

Magazine   Commercial periodical publication for interested non-specialists; rarely peer reviewed, but often a good measure of what matters concern a discipline

Newsletter   Special-interest periodical of notices and brief summaries of current information, often directed at members of an organization 

Peer review   An editorial process before an article or book is published in which writing is judged to be good enough for publication by other people who work in the field; it typically represents a higher standard of ability, accuracy, and professionalism (and therefore reliability and quality) than journalistic or non-peer-reviewed work

Periodical   The catch-all term for publications issued on a regular basis, including journals, magazines, newspapers, and newsletters, whether in print or in electronic form

Subject Guide

Karen White's picture
Karen White
Contact:
170 Paul Meek Library
7061