This is the "Home" page of the "How to Connect to Library Resources from Off Campus" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

How to Connect to Library Resources from Off Campus  

Last Updated: Feb 16, 2014 URL: http://libguides.utm.edu/offcampus Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About This Page

This page is intended to help the students who are off the Martin campusm or online students to access library resouces. The search box is used to search the catalog. The chat box will let you contact someone at the reference desk of the Paul Meek Library if you need any assistance.
Click here to chat with a reference librarian.

ILLiad

PML doesn't have a copy? Article isn't available in full text? UTM students and faculty can ask the Interlibrary Loan department to find it for you. Remember to leave enough lead time!

If you are a UTM student who does not take classes in Martin you may use  the ILLiad system to get books from the Paul Meek Library.  Please remember to specify at what site you are enrolled.

  • ILLiad
    Link to the forms to borrow an article or book from another library
 

Access from Off Campus

The Paul Meek Library subscribes to a variety of licensed electronic databases and journals for educational use. These resources are available on all campus computers but due to our licensing agreements, cannot be accessed publicly on the Internet.

To access these materials you must be a current University of Tennessee student, staff, or faculty member, including concurrent enrollment students and emeritus faculty. Access is based on the University's Personnel and Registration records.

Restricted sources/services  include: Indexes & Abstracts, Online Newspapers, Electronic Journals.

A list of online resources can be found on our electronic database page.


Browser configuration is no longer required!  Off-campus users have access all UTM-licensed databases and services through an IP method that does not require use of logins for individual resources; if you are off campus, enter your UTM student login and password at the prompt.

The default login could be the first 3 letters of your first name, middle initial, and the first four letters of your last name.

Your password could be the last four digits of your SSN, plus the first 3 letters of your birth month with the first letter capitalized, plus the two-digit year of birth.

Example: Joan Q. Public, ssn: 123-45-6789
Born - June 10, 1981

Login - joaqpubl
Password - 6789Jun81

 

If you have problems contact UT Martin's ITS Help Desk at (731) 881-7900.

 

What are they talking about?

Libraries pay for and provide resources that are electronically accessible but that cannot be found with a Web browser or "on the Internet." Knowing these terms will help as you look for articles in your subject

Abstract   Short summary of an article's methods and findings, written to help researchers decide quickly if the article is relevant to their interest

Article   Single piece of writing by one or more authors, shorter than a monograph (book), published in a periodical

Citation   Publication data for a published item which allows a reader to identify the source; sometimes accompanied by an abstract

Database   An electronic collection of publications that allows users to browse individual titles or to search many all at once. Subject databases are often very expensive and not avialable beyond campus, but they are the best way to see what has been done in a field. A database may be either an index or full-text, and might have both kinds of entries

Full-text   Includes an electronic copy of the actual article. Depending on the database, the article may be available in HTML format, PDF format (displays the article as it originally appeared in the periodical with, layout and graphics), or both.

Index   Lists of article citations which may provide an abstract of an article, but does not provide complete text. Use an index to identify material the library may not own but which you may find in another database or request through ILLiad

Journal   A periodical produced for specialists in a particular field, often produced by a scholarly society or academic school; almost always peer reviewed

Limiter   Any of several database functions that narrow a results list, often by using controlled terms, dates, or sources

Magazine   Commercial periodical publication for interested non-specialists or casual professional reading; rarely peer reviewed, but often a good measure of what matters concern a profession, discipline, or interest group

Newsletter   Special-interest periodical of notices and brief summaries of current information, often directed at members of an organization 

Peer review   An editorial process before an article or book becomes accessible (published), in which writing is judged to be good enough for publication by other people who work in the field; it typically represents a higher standard of ability, accuracy, and professionalism (and therefore reliability and quality) than journalistic or non-peer-reviewed work

Periodical   The catch-all term for publications issued on a regular basis, including journals, magazines, newspapers, and newsletters, whether in print or in electronic form

My Profile

Profile Image
Jim Nance
Contact Info
Send Email
 

Chat with a Reference Librarian

(Help via chat is only available during library service hours)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip