Skip to main content

Music: Home

Departmental links

Helps

Search @ the Library

Search the catalog for print and e-title items in the library collection

(use the "Keyword" pull-down menu to target your query to a specific data field)


(Use this separate link to search library databases for > articles < <  in journals, magazines, and select newspapers)

How to use this LibGuide

If you are in a music class, direct access to music-related material will be a useful shortcut. Whether you may be just looking up a quick musical definition or studying carefuly to inform your performance, this guide provides a place to begin. Choose a tab across the top that fits your need

Find . . . provides a pull-down menu of links to basic help for sources in a particular medium; remember to ask for Reference help as well

Classes has class-focused helps for UTM general-education courses

Theory/Notation covers the technical side of written music

Music education is intended to help students studying to be music teachers themselves

Brass, Keyboard, Percussion, Vocal, and Woodwind provide sources for performers and performance majors

How to cite (Chicago/Turabian) provides help for appropriately citing sources in writing for Music Department assignments

 

Need help?

Tabs on this guide provide a few suggested sources you might find useful. Look at the call numbers. In either the reference or circulating collections, if you can find one book on a subject that interests you, its placement in the call number system means that similar books will be sitting right around it on the shelf.

The Library owns and loans books from the collections on the second floor. We also have a reference collection whose material is always on-site. The library catalog may be searched by anyone, but finding and downloading articles is typically restricted to UTM affiliates

Remember that help is available by chat, telephone, and in person at the Reference desk

Subject Guide