Skip to main content

CREATING EFFECTIVE RESEARCH ASSIGNMENTS : Assignment Ideas

Information Competencies for Chemistry Undergraduates

This assignment introduces three key topics: types of literature, ACS citation (if desired), and annotated bibliography. Students are asked to find the physical and chemical properties of a popular pharmaceutical or well-known chemical from six types of sources: the popular literature (magazine or journal), a “reputable” Web site, a reference source (found in the library catalog), a book from the main collection (paper or ebook)a peer-reviewed research article, and a review article. Students then create an annotated bibliographic record that includes a summary of information provided and evaluation of each source. This assignment introduces students to a range of resources that are available, the purpose and scope of each, and ACS citation style. Students also read for content by finding facts related to the assigned compound, such as chemical structure, International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) name, biological effects, biological origins, synthesis, preparation, or isolation. This first required task is assigned early in the first term and reinforces student understanding of the nature of compounds in organic chemistry

Link to recommended databases.

 

Information Competencies for Biology Undergraduates

This assignment introduces three key topics: types of literature, CSE citation (if desired), and annotated bibliography. Students are asked to find an article that discusses an environmental-related challenge facing our society from six different types of sources: the popular literature (journal, magazines), a book owned by the library (may be paper or ebook), a “reputable” Web site, a reference source (may be online or in the library), a peer-reviewed research article, and a review article. Students then create an annotated bibliographic record that includes a summary of information provided and evaluation of each source. This assignment introduces students to a range of resources that are available, the purpose and scope of each, and CSE (if desired) citation style. Students also read for content by finding facts related to the assigned topic.. This first required task is assigned early in the first term and reinforces student understanding of the nature of research and how many areas biology touches.

 

Link to recommended databases.

Information Competencies for Phycis Undergraduates

This assignment introduces three key topics: types of literature, AIP citation (if desired), and annotated bibliography. Students are asked to find an article that deals with acoustics & sound properties from six different types of sources: the popular literature (journal, magazine), a book owned by the library (may be paper or ebook), a “reputable” Web site, a reference source (may be online or in the library), a peer-reviewed research article, and a review article. Students then create an annotated bibliographic record that includes a summary of information provided and evaluation of each source. This assignment introduces students to a range of resources that are available, the purpose and scope of each, and AIP (if desired) citation style. Students also read for content by finding facts related to the assigned topic.. This first required task is assigned early in the first term and reinforces student understanding of the nature of acoustics and sound and how many areas this field touches. 

Link to recommended databases.

Information Competencies for Computer Science Undergraduates

This assignment introduces three key topics: types of literature, ACM citation (if desired), and annotated bibliography. Students are asked to find an article that discusses a computer related challenge facing our society from six different types of sources: the popular literature (journal, magazines), a book owned by the library (may be paper or ebook), a “reputable” Web site, a reference source (may be online or in the library), a peer-reviewed research article, and a review article. Students then create an annotated bibliographic record that includes a summary of information provided and evaluation of each source. This assignment introduces students to a range of resources that are available, the purpose and scope of each, and ACM (if desired) citation style. Students also read for content by finding facts related to the assigned topic.. This first required task is assigned early in the first term and reinforces student understanding of the nature of research and how many areas computers impact.

Link to recommended databases.

Information Competencies for Engineering Undergraduates

This assignment introduces three key topics: types of literature, IEEE citation (if desired), and annotated bibliography. Students are asked to find an information that discusses a large-scale pressing challenge facing our societies worldwide from six different types of sources: the popular literature (journal, magazine), a book owned by the library (may be paper or ebook), a “reputable” Web site, a reference source (may be online or in the library), a peer-reviewed research article, and a review (research) article. Students then create an annotated bibliographic record that includes a summary of information provided and evaluation of each source. This assignment introduces students to a range of resources that are available, the purpose and scope of each, and IEEE (if desired) citation style. Students also read for content by finding facts related to the assigned topic.. This first required task is assigned early in the first term and reinforces student understanding of the nature of research and how many areas this engineering touches.

 

Link to recommended databases.

Information Competencies for Health & human Performance Undergraduates

This assignment introduces three key topics: types of literature, APA citation (if desired), and annotated bibliography. Students are asked to find an article that discusses an issue related to Health & Human Performance.  The student will need to locate six different  types of sources: the popular literature (journal, magazines), a book owned by the library (may be paper or ebook), a “reputable” Web site, a reference source (may be online or in the library), a peer-reviewed research article, and a review article. Students then create an annotated bibliographic record that includes a summary of information provided and evaluation of each source. This assignment introduces students to a range of resources that are available, the purpose and scope of each, and APA (if desired) citation style. Students also read for content by finding facts related to the assigned topic.. This first required task is assigned early in the first term and reinforces student understanding of the nature of research and how many areas H&HP touch.

 

Link to recommended databases.