Skip to main content

Dietetics: Important Web Resources for Dietetics

The science of the principles of nutrition and their application in the pursuit of health. Dietetics includes the scientific selection of meals for people with digestive, metabolic and malnutritional disorders. The Collins Dictionary of Medicine

Important Web Sites

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics - was the American Dietetic Association.
The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics is a multidimensional organization that strives to improve the nation's health and advance the profession of dietetics through research, education, and advocacy.

ADA Evidence Analysis Library (part of Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics' Web site)
The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Evidence Analysis Library is a synthesis of the best, most relevant nutritional research on important dietetic practice questions housed within an accessible, online, user-friendly library. An objective and transparent methodology is used to assess food and nutrition-related science.

American Heart Association Nutrition Center
The Nutrition Center offers information on a heart-healthy diet, healthy cooking, exercise, weight management, stress management and more promoting heart health.

American Society for Nutrition
Excellence in nutrition research and practice.  Via the Society's Web site, users have access to current issues of 3 nutrition journals:  Advances in Nutrition, The Journal of Nutrition, and The American Journal of Clinical Nutrition.

Center for Science in the Public Interest
CSPI is a consumer advocacy organization whose twin missions are to conduct innovative research and advocacy programs in health and nutrition, and to provide consumers with current, useful information about their health and well-being

CSPI's National Alliance for Nutrition and Activity

  • NANA advocates federal policies and programs to promote healthy eating and physical activity to help reduce the illnesses, disabilities, premature deaths, and costs caused by diet and inactivity-related diseases, such as heart disease, cancer, high blood pressure, diabetes, and obesity
  • NANA promotes, within the legislative and executive branches of government, a better understanding of the importance of healthy eating, physical activity, and obesity control to the nation's health and health-care costs
  • NANA has two extensive lists of National Organizations and State & Local organizations dedicated to Health and Nutrition

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Cochrane Reviews are systematic reviews of primary research in human health care and health policy, and are internationally recognised as the highest standard in evidence-based healthcare, investigating the effects of interventions for prevention, treatment and rehabilitation.  On the Cochrane 
homepage, one will find a link to the Cochrane Library (see below)
Cochrane Library
Contains
 a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration

Institute of Medicine
The Institute of Medicine (IOM) is an independent, nonprofit organization that works outside of government to provide unbiased and authoritative advice to decision makers and the public. IOM's aim is to help those in government and the private sector make informed health decisions based upon reliable evidence. 

Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
Online Medical Library for healthcare professionals

Society for Hospitality & Food Service Management

State Health Facts
A source for each US state's individual health profile, 50 state comparison, this site includes data on women's health, minority health, and HIV?/AIDS data

Important Government Resources

Centers for Disease Control (the CDC)
Excellent source of information on variety of health, nutrition, and safety topics

CDC's School Health Policies and Practices Study (SHPPS)
The School Health Policies and Practices Study* (SHPPS) is a national survey periodically conducted to assess school health policies and practices at the state, district, school, and classroom levels.  Also check out the CDC's Adolescent and School Health home page.

Clinical Trials
Offers up-to-date information for locating federally and privately supported clinical trials for a wide range of diseases and conditions; understanding clinical trials, & studies listed by: condition, drug intervention, sponsor, location

Food and Nutrition Information Center
FNIC is a leader in food and human nutrition information dissemination since 1971 - provides credible, accurate, and practical resources for nutrition and health professionals, educators, government personnel and consumers.  Check out the Resource Lists and the Databases.

FoodSafety.gov

  • Food Recalls and Alerts
  • Keep Food Safe
  • Food Poisoning, and
  • Much more

HealthFinder.gov
Here is a guide to living well.  There is an interactive "Personal Health Tools," "Health A-Z," "Health News," and an encyclopedia of over 1,600 health topics from the most trusted sources.

MedlinePlus - The National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues.

National Cancer Institute
Cancer topics, types of cancer, clinical trials, treatments, research & funding, news, prevention & screening

New Routes To Community Health
Immigrants' health concerns organized by various topics and ethnicity

Nutrition.gov
Providing easy, online access to government information on food and human nutrition for consumers. A service of the National Agricultural Library, USDA. 

Pub Med
Free medline searching

PubMed Central
Browse or search full text of many biomedical and life sciences journals

Reports of the Surgeon General
Includes official reports and other publications

US Department of Health and Human Services
The HHS is the principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans. It is comprised of the Office of the Secretary and 11 operating divisions. The agencies perform a wide variety of tasks and services, including research, public health, food and drug safety, grants and other funding, health insurance, and many others.

USDA's Food and Nutrition Service

USDA's Nutrient Data Laboratory
Dedicated to developing authoritative food composition databases and state of the art methods to acquire, evaluate, compile and disseminate composition data on foods and dietary supplements available in the United States

US Food and Drug Administration
Protecting and promoting health.  Check out the section dedicated to Health Professionals in the field