Skip to main content

Educational Studies: Find Articles

Education - Any process, either formal or informal, that shapes the potential of a maturing organism. The Columbia Encyclopedia

Directory of Open Access Journals in Education

The Online College.org website maintains a complete and current directory of open access peer-reviewed journals in education.

Electronic Databases

Electronic Databases are useful tools to search for articles in thousands of journals, magazines, and newspapers at the same tie.  Some article will be full-text while others may provide an abstract or summary of the article.

ERIC  ERIC is the most widely used index of educational literature in the world.

Proquest Education Database Find comprehensive education periodical coverage including primary, secondary, and university-level topics.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database -  An independent review source, contains more than 900,000 catalog records and more than 130,000 critical reviews of thousands of children's books, videos and software, ranging from the earliest baby board books to novels and nonfiction for young adults.

Teacher Reference Center  This index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books is now also offered free via the EBSCOhost platform. This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians. (not available to off-campus)

Educator's Reference Complete Contains more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports from the U.S. Department of Education. A resource for any educator - from school teachers and administrators to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Provides full-text results for nearly half of the journal titles found in ERIC.

Professional Collection A custom collection of more than 300 journals for professional educators.  Provides access to full text articles relating to education.  Articles were written from 1980 to the present and content is updated daily.

Scholarly vs. Non-Scholarly Periodicals