Skip to main content

Educational Studies: Document Delevery

Education - Any process, either formal or informal, that shapes the potential of a maturing organism. The Columbia Encyclopedia

Eligibility Guidelines for Off-Campus Delivery Services

Library users requesting materials be delivered off-site must meet criteria similar to on-campus users:

  • Students must be enrolled in a UTM distance-education degree program or credit course; this includes those in concurrent-enrollment programs.
  • Faculty can request services for UTM distance education courses, curriculum, or education-related research, including emeritus faculty.
  • Staff can use services for the education-related activities of their Continuing Education/Extension Center.
  • On-campus instructors can request services for designing and teaching distance education classes and integrating library services into the curriculum.

Off-campus courses are defined as those taught at a site more than 30 miles from Martin. Individuals must be attending/teaching classes via:

  • UTM's Continuing Education & Extension Centers.
  • New College and Internet-delivered classes.
  • Independent Studies.
  • Distance education degree or credit programs delivered by UTM colleges and departments.
This service is not available to:
  • UTM students attending classes on the Martin campus (including Evening School).
  • UTM faculty teaching on the Martin campus (including Evening School).
  • UTM facuty or students who reside within 30 miles of the UTM campus.
  • Individuals not affiliated with UTM as faculty or students.

Journal Articles & Photocopies

The ILLiad system allows users to borrow specific articles from journals to which UTM does not have access, or to get pages photocopied from books and other materials in the PML collections.

  • There are no charges for using this service.
  • Articles generally will be emailed electronically to your university email address.
  • All photocopies become the property of the user and do not need to be returned.
  • Individual articles (not entire journal issues) will be provided.
  • Use of this service and material secured through it is strictly limited to non-commercial educational purposes only.

Book Loans

Request print books, government documents, and other materials that circulate from the Paul Meek Libraries' collections.

  • Requests must be made through the ILLiad interlibrary loan system
  • There may be a charge to cover postage.
  • All loaned materials will be shipped to commercial sites via USPS.
  • Circulating materials are accompanied by a cover slip designating the due date. The item should also be stamped with the due date.
  • All books and other loaned materials must be returned directly to Distance Education Library Services. A mailing label will be sent with all loaned materials for return using the U.S. Postal Service.
  • If you return materials close to the due date, contact us to renew these items in order to avoid possible overdue fees.
  • Print materials owned by another library may be requested by using the ILLiad Interlibrary loan system
  • Book loan services are not currently available to students physically located outside of the United States.

Interlibrary Loan

Loaning Items Offsite

Paul Meek Library encourages faculty, staff, and students at UTM off-site Centers to use material in the PML collections. Search the Paul Meek Library Catalog to identify what you need. These terms apply:

***Allow at least 1 week for delivery; holidays and weekends may add extra time ***

Materials available for loan include:

  • Books
  • Government documents
  • ERIC documents
  • Juvenile and Juvenile Easy collection books
  • Audio/Video collection materials

The following materials are not available for loan:

  • Reference books
  • Reserve collections
  • Material or any sort in Corbitt Special Collections & Archives
  • Maps
  • Journals
  • Any material whose status is "Non-circulating"

Loan Periods

  • Faculty may borrow materials until that specific term ends.
  • Staff may borrow materials for 3 WEEKS.
  • Graduate Students for 3 WEEKS.
  • Undergraduate students for 3 WEEKS.

Renewal Options

  • Call the library's User Services staff at 731-881-7092
  • Use the Web catalog to log in to your library borrower record

    Materials may be renewed up to 3 times. The renewal period will be the same as the original loan period. Materials requested by another user or  needed for Course Reserve will not be renewed.

Overdue Fees

  • Borrowers are responsible for all materials charged to them (i.e., don't loan something to someone else)
  • Fees are assessed for unreturned items, lost, or damaged items; unreturned items and unpaid fees result in holds on registration and transcripts.
  • Replacement Fee: book cost, plus $10 processing.

 ***Allow at least 1 week for delivery; holidays and weekends may add extra time. ***