Skip to main content

Sociology: Find E-articles

Scientific study of human social behavior. As the study of humans in their collective aspect, sociology is concerned with all group activities—economic, social, political, and religious. The Columbia Encyclopedia

DISCOVERY SEARCH ENGINE (Searches all UTM resources)

The image is of a powerful new search engine on the library homepage. The search box allows you to  S E A R C H  A L L  L I B R A R Y  R E S O U R C E S!  EVERY Database, EVERY electronic journal, EVERY eBook, EVERY book, print journal  in a single search!  To get started, go to: www.utm.edu/library.php 

Films on Demand - Media Database

The Films on Demand database has hundreds of educational videos on topics relevant to Sociology. Here are only a few examples:



Understanding Sociology
– 2007 (Series 4:58:29)

Introduction to Sociology - 2012 (Series 1:10:14)

Poverty in America – 2007 (6 Part Series 5:30:26)

Sociology of Religion – 2007 (full video 32:07)

Sociology of Sports – 2005 (full video 45:48)                                     

Core Concepts in Sociology - 2007 (full video 37:13)

A Global Roll Call: The Need for Education Worldwide Series - 2009 (Series 3:20:30)

Modern Slavery -  2008 (Series 2:13:50)

The Trouble with Working Women: An Inquiry into Inequality Between the Sexes – 2009 (Series 1:58:55)

Women at the Top:  Why Are There Still So Few Women Business Leaders? - 2012 (Series 1:59:09)

The Appalachians – 2005 (Series 2:47:02)

Globalization: A Real-World View – 2009 (Series 2:36:43)

 

DATABASES for SOCIOLOGY


Diversity Studies Collection

explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community

      

JSTOR
 Full text multi-disciplinary database with
access to over 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources
   


Gender Studies
 - gender, sexual behavior,
family & marital issues, conversion therapy,
gay/lesbian rights,
health, etc.



Taylor & Francis Online - 
Search the Social Science Library

      
1)  Social Sciences Journals (ProQuest) 
Full text of hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across the social sciences.

2)  Psychology Journals (ProQuest) 
Three databases: PsychARTICLES, PsycINFO, and ProQuest Psychology Journals. Full-text
coverage from top psychology, psychiatric, and
related publications, and all journals published by the American Psychological Association.



Oxford Online Library

High quality journals in the Social Sciences


Academic Search Ultimate
A multi-disciplinary database
covering all disciplines 

Google Scholar

Use this instead of Google for research.  Google Scholar provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.