Skip to main content

Psychology: Find BOOKS & MEDIA

Psychology is the scientific study of human behavior and experience. Through systematic observation and research, psychologists attempt to explain how and why human beings act and react to the world around them. World of Sociology, a Gale product.

REFERENCE BOOKS - Psychology

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5

2 print copies available at the Reference Desk in the library

The Nineteenth Mental Measurements Yearbook

In addition to electronic access, the library also has a print copy in reference.

Handbook of Social Psychology

2 volume set available in print in the reference department of the library. It is also available electronically via the Literati database.

Encyclopedia of Psychology and Law

This encyclopedia is available in print in the reference department of the library. It is also available electronically via the Literati database.

Handbook of Psychology

Volumes 2, 5, 7, 9, and 10 can be found in print in the library

Library of Congress Classification

Library of Congress Classification System

Libraries use classification systems to organize the books on the shelves. A classification system uses letters and/or numbers (call numbers) to arrange the books so that books on the same topic are together.  The Paul Meek Library uses the Library of Congress classification system.  Here is a link to an outline of the Library of Congress Classification.

See the image below to help you find a book on the shelf

 

Psychology Videos in FILMS on DEMAND DATABASE



Films on Demand is a database of streaming videos providing access to 1000s of documentaries and educational films. Content from Films on Demand can be shown in the classroom setting, linked to in a Canvas course, or discovered by students when conducting research.  In Films on Demand one may browse collections or search by topic. One may search for specific films.

Films on Demand contains over 30,000 videos -
For Psychology students there are 149 Psychology Film Series.
Here are just a few examples of different series with the number of films in the series:

Beautiful Minds: The Psychology of the Savant (3 films)
Cognitive Psychology (9 films)
The Psychology of Learning (7 films)
Giants in Psychology (10 films)
Mapping Murder: Investigative Psychology Meets Geographical Profiling (6 films)
History of Psychology (3 films)
Young Addicts (3 films)
Recognizing Child Abuse (3 films)
Madness: A Social History of Mental Illness (5 films)
No More Shame: Understanding Schizophrenia, Depression and Addiction (3 films)
Lockup:  Inside Americans Prisons (6 films)
The House of Agoraphobics: Case Studies in Panic Disorder (2 films)
Study of the Child: Theories of Development (2 films)
Classic Piaget (2 films)
Child Genius: A Longitudinal Look at Young Prodigies (3 films)