Skip to main content

Physics & Astronomy: Find articles

Citing sources

Writing help

Tips for searching physics literature

+ The Physics and Astronomy Classification Scheme (PACS) is used for classifying literature in American Physical Society (APS) journals.  Instead of searching APS Online Journals by keyword, use these classification terms to build a search for highly-specific topics and subtopics

+ Scholarly communication in the field of physics includes sharing unpublished research.  Search pre-print servers like E-Print Network or arXiv by keyword to find in-progress research papers by scholars from all over the world 

Online tutorial for searching the database Annual Reviews Online, a key database for Physics research

Electronic databases (limited access)

Databases pull together search and delivery functions for large groups of professional and scholarly publications. Journal contents may be included in more than one database, but databases do not include the same journals. They are typically accessible by subscription only

Electronic databases (open access)

I need help searching. . . .

BRAINSTORM

Finding too much on your topic?  Not finding anything on your topic?  Are you using the best keywords and concepts to describe what you're looking for? Try a brainstorm for other terms.

Start or refine a search by thinking of different words and phrases that describe your topic. Write down what you think would be the title of "the perfect" book or article. Pick important words from what you have written and use those in the search box (skip articles like "the" and modifiers like "greatest").

If you're still having trouble getting started, try reading a few subject-encyclopedia articles.  Look for important words used in the article and the different ways an idea is described.  Also check out the Reference List or Works Cited section of the article more ideas or citations.

* * * * *

Want to make your search even better and faster?  Check out these short videos below (from Furman Scibrary).  Guess what--they work in every subject.

ILLiad

PML doesn't have the book? Article isn't available in full text? UTM students and faculty can ask the Interlibrary Loan staff to find it for you. Remember to leave enough lead time!