Skip to main content

Engineering: Starting Research and Literature Review

Introduction

This guide serves as a starting point to help students with peer-reviewed literature searches, i.e. most likely when assisting a faculty member with a research project. This document does not attempt to cover all possibilities. Students are expected to “branch out” on their own after using this guide to get started.  

 

The “Electronic Databases” can be accessed from the library homepage:

URL: http://library.utm.edu/search/y

 

Note that if you select “Engineering” as the subject from the Electronic Databases homepage, there are only two results: American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers and Institute of Physics.  This is not really helpful.  Searching will need additional effort as described below.

Ebsco

·       Under  there are two items of potential interest:

 

eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)

Search and view the full text of eBooks

 

…and potentially…

 

GreenFILE

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

JStor

 

·       Under  there are not direct engineering topics, but some are related:

 

Mathematics

Statistics

History of Science and Technology

 

It is possible to search within each category or to search all of JSTOR.  A search of the whole database on a topic such as “Fractal Geometry” doesn’t exactly turn up results from the Folklore category or the Performing Arts category; therefore, searches on such specific topics are okay for the entire database.

Tennessee Electronic Library

·       Under  there are mainly two options that stand out:

 

Academic OneFile

Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.

 

…and also…

 

Expanded Academic ASAP

Multidisciplinary full-text and citations database.

Proquest

·       Under  there is a “Science and Technology” category and “ProQuest Science Journals” as a sub-category.

 

In my opinion, this search option provides to most user-friendly results.  While writing this guide, I searched “Bainite”, and I downloaded the second paper listed for an ongoing research project.

Additional Suggestions

An Additional resource can be found by selecting “W” from the “Browse by Titles” on the Electronic Databases homepage. 

The one of interest is Web of Science.

 

Another option is to search individual journals, although this is more time consuming and likely will not result in many full-text download options.  An example would be to search the Society of Manufacturing Engineers two peer-reviewed journals directly and separately at their respective Elsevier websites:

So on for IEEE, ASEE, ASCE, ASME, etc.  (list eventually coming?)

 

Finally, it may be fruitful to search the UTM Library’s Electronic Databases by going through the complete alphabetical listing.