Skip to main content

Engineering: Find Articles

ILLiad

PML doesn't have the book? Article isn't available in full text? UTM students and faculty can ask the Interlibrary Loan staff to find it for you. Remember to leave enough lead time!

Subject Related Databases

ASABE Technical Library

Search all recent technical documents published by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers.   Some Full-text is provided.  Click on the Publications Included button to view the titles you can access on this site.

 

DOAJ (Directory of open access journals)

Choose subjects: Technology and Engineering, then be sure to check each article for language e.g. English and while most open access articles are free, also check each article for a publication fee Y or N.  If you are interested in the article but can’t afford a fee, use Interlibrary loan (Illiad)

 

Energy Citations Database 

(ECD) provides free access to over 2,428,000 science research citations with continued growth through regular updates. There are over 280,000 electronic documents, primarily from 1943 forward, available via the database. Citations and documents are made publicly available by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).

 

ICE Virtual Library

The ICE Virtual Library is the world’s most comprehensive online civil engineering resource.  Contains some free full text.

 

Proquest Science Journals

ProQuest Science Journals features over 1,595 titles—with more than 1,260 available in full text. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature.  

 

TRID    

TRID is a newly integrated database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide.

Free Academic Databases

Information Bridge: DOE Scientific and Technical Information

This site provides free public access to over 280,000 full-text documents and bibliographic citations of Department of Energy (DOE) research report literature. Documents are primarily from 1991 forward.

Online Materials Information Resource – MatWeb

MatWeb is described as a searchable database of material properties.  They have over 85,000 materials and are continuing to add more.  They provide several converters and calculators to be used for common engineering tasks.

Geothermal Technologies Legacy Collection

The overall geothermal collection at the Office of Scientific and Technical Information includes not only DOE-sponsored technical reports and conference proceedings or papers but also includes items such as United States and internationally published journal citations and patents for geothermal products and technologies.

CADS Finder

If you're looking for information on casting alloy the web site above is suggested by a UTM engineering professor.  You can use the Casting Alloy Data Search which is provided by the American Foundry Society.