Skip to main content

Federal Government Documents: The U. S. Congress

Databases & Online Indexes for Congressional Materials

House of Representatives Website

Includes legislative activity, roll call votes, calendars, schedules, committees, and the U.S. Code.

Senate Website

Includes legislative activity, roll call votes, calendars, schedules, committees, the Congressional Record, and status information on treaties.

Congress.gov

Congress.gov is the official source for federal legislative information. It replaces the nearly 20-year-old THOMAS.gov site with a system that includes platform mobility, comprehensive information retrieval and user-friendly presentation. It currently includes all data sets available on THOMAS.gov except nominations, treaties and communications. These data sets will be added throughout 2014. Until that time they are still accessible through THOMAS.gov via the link below. THOMAS.gov will be permanently retired by the end of 2014.

To access THOMAS.gov, click here.

Legislative Sourcebook (Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C.)

Includes a weekly list of newly released hearings, newly enacted public laws, a table of Congressional publication volumes and Presidential issuances, and a guide to the U.S. Serial Set.

Includes the Congressional Record, bills and bill tracking (full-text 1989 forward), legislative histories, public laws (full-text 1988 forward), hearings (full-text of 30-40% from 1988 forward), documents (full-text 1995 forward), reports (full-text 1990 forward), committee prints (selective full-text 1995 forward), biographical, financial and voting information for members of Congress.

Project Vote Smart

Includes a wealth of facts on candidates and elected officials, voting records, campaign finances, major bills, voting records and the text of bill.

 

 

General Information

FDsys

GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Through FDsys, you are able to:

Search for documents and publications — FDsys provides advanced search capabilities and the ability to refine and narrow your search for quick access to the information you need.

Browse for documents and publications — FDsys offers browsing by collection, Congressional committee, date, and Government author.

Access metadata about documents and publications — FDsys provides information about Government publications in standard XML formats.

Download documents and publications in multiple renditions or file formats — With FDsys, users can download a single file or download content and metadata packaged together in a compressed file.

Legislative Explorer

The Legislative Explorer (Leg/Ex) is a fascinating and informative new tool created by the Center for American Politics and Public Policy.  Leg/Ex provides a visual representation of the movement of legislation through congress, customizable by  year, congress member, party, topic, and more.  

Leg/Ex

cappp.org

Depository Info

This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S Goverment documents. Public access to the Goverment documents is guaranteed by public law(Title 44 U.S.C).