Skip to main content

Federal Government Documents: General Information and Resources

How to read a SuDoc call number

General Indexes and Databases of Interest

List of government executive agencies and departments.

Bibliographic finding tool for federal publications.

NTIS

Database that contains bibliographic records for the latest research sponsored by the United States and select foreign governments. Information is typically oriented toward the scientific, technical, engineering, and business related fields.

Find general government information.

 

 

Gov Info

What are U. S. goverment documents?

A U.S. government document may be broadly defined as any publication issued at government expense or published under the authority of a governmental body. Included are official papers that record the actions or deliberations of government (such as the Congressional Record), informational publications (like the many statistical compilations of the Bureau of the Census), and reports of research done under government contract. 

How do I find U. S. government documents at UTM?

The primary finding tool for the government documents in the Library is the online catalog for the items in the library collection; and the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications for documents printed by the Government Printing Office.


The document collection is arranged by the Superintendent of Documents Classification System (SuDoc). Most of the documents are located in stacks or microfiche cabinets on the east side of the first floor. The microfiche readers/printers are housed in the Media Department, on the north side of the first floor. Some heavily used materials are incorporated into the Reference Collection on the first floor (see map), or General Collection on the second floor (see map).

Access to government publications is available during all hours of library operation. Provision of reference services by the documents staff is available Monday-Friday, 8:00 A.M.-4:00 P.M. at the Government Documents desk and by the reference desk staff at remaining hours of library operation. We encourage making an appointment for complex, in-depth assistance. Contact us by phone at (731) 881-7073 or  e-mail mbusbee1@utm.edu

Early Librarian

Depository Info

This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S Goverment documents. Public access to the Goverment documents is guaranteed by public law(Title 44 U.S.C).

A bit of history

History in the Federal Government

History of the GPO