Skip to main content

Biology: Sites of Interest

The science of life and of living organisms, including their structure, function, growth, origin, evolution, and distribution. It includes botany and zoology and all their subdivisions. ~American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, 2000~

Sites of Interest

Linnean Society of London Online Collections

Open access to the original specimen collections of Swedish naturalist Carl Linnaeus (1707–1778).  Collections include the Linnean herbarium, Linnean fish collection, Linnean Insect colection, and the Linnean shell collection. Other notable colections include the notebooks of Alfred Russell Wallace (1823-1913), and the paintings of Dr Francis Buchanan-Hamilton (1762-1829).  This one is seriously too cool to miss.

 

Biodiversity Heritage Library

A consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.” BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life (EOL).

 

Charles Darwin's Library

This site is a digital reconstruction of the surviving copies of books owned by Charles Darwin. Features scans and transcripts of materials including Darwin's own notes and marginalia.  Hosted by Biodiversity Heritage Library.

 

The e-Skeletons Project

This site provides an interactive environment in which to examine and learn about skeletal anatomy. The purpose of this site is to enable you to view the bones of both human and non-human primates and to gather information about them from our osteology database.

The Visible Human:  A guided tour

Undertaken by the National Library of Medicine, this site presents complete, anantomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of the normal male and female human bodies.  The available images are created using real cadavers.

The Inner Body

This is a great site to explore the human skeleton, bones, and joints.

Fun Stuff

As Many Exceptions As Rules

Core concepts of science reinforced through stories of organisms that seem to break biological rules or norms in order to survive and thrive.