Skip to main content

Biology: Databases

The science of life and of living organisms, including their structure, function, growth, origin, evolution, and distribution. It includes botany and zoology and all their subdivisions. ~American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, 2000~

Search TIPS

When searching databases, use AND, OR, and parentheses to focus your search.

The asterisk * symbol will search for all variations of a word.  For example:  intell* will search for intellect and intelligent and intellectual. Using quotes will force a phrase search--those exact words in that order.

Combine synonyms with OR and put them inside parentheses, like this:

(grasshopper OR locust OR caelifera) AND respiration

Here's another example:

("escherichia coli" OR E. coli) AND binary fission


Also, check the "help" menu of a database for options to use truncation or stemming. The use of a special character will allow to search word roots for variations and plurals. For example, 
searching with protist* will provide results for protist, protists, and protista

 

Biological Sciences - Information in DATABASES

Agricola - National Agriculture Library (Also available with limited full-text through Proquest, as well as the Gale Agriculture Collection

A bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperatives.  Records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.

ASABE Technical Library

Search all recent technical documents published by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. Anyone can view the abstracts. View a list of publications included. You'll find journals from 1998 forward and all other ASABE technical publications from 2001 to current.

ASM - American Society for Microbiology

A collection of more than a dozen peer reviewed journals published through the American Society for Microbiology. Topics include microbiology, cellular biology, virology, bacteriology, and immunology. 

BioOne

BioOne includes a broad selection of full-text, peer-reviewed journals and bulletins published by AIBS member societies and it represents a core resource for any college or university library supporting undergraduate or advanced studies in the biosciences. This database consists of BioOne One and BioOne Two.

JSTOR 

Paul Meek Library's JSTOR subscription includes, the Botany, Ecology, and Boiological Sciences Collections, among others.

 
Search multiple ProQuest databases simultaneously, including Science & Technology, ERIC, and AGRICOLA.
 
 
The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
  
 
The Web of Science databases bring together indexing for over 10,000 of the highest impact scholarly journals worldwide and over 110,000 conference proceedings.  You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900.