Skip to main content

How to Connect to Library Resources from Off Campus: Get articles

About Article Databases

Electronic Databases are used to find articles in journals and magazines--periodicals. Some entries will be full text; others will provide a summary or reference, but the information will be listed on where and in what publication you can find the original article

General and Multidisciplinary Article Databases

Listed below are three of our top multi-disciplinary electronic databases. there are others of course, located here

 

  • Academic Search Premier
    This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
  • Academic OneFile
    A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social sciences, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles.
  • Expanded Academic ASAP
    Use this database to find information on: Astronomy, Religion, Law, History, Psychology, Humanities, Current Events, Sociology, Communications and the General Sciences.

What are they talking about?

Libraries pay for and provide resources that are electronically accessible but that cannot be found with a Web browser or "on the Internet." Knowing these terms will help as you look for articles in your subject

Abstract   Short summary of an article's methods and findings, written to help researchers decide quickly if the article is relevant to their interest

Article   Single piece of writing by one or more authors, shorter than a monograph (book), published in a periodical

Citation   Publication data for a published item which allows a reader to identify the source; sometimes accompanied by an abstract

Database   An electronic collection of publications that allows users to browse individual titles or to search many all at once. Subject databases are often very expensive and not avialable beyond campus, but they are the best way to see what has been done in a field. A database may be either an index or full-text, and might have both kinds of entries

Full-text   Includes an electronic copy of the actual article. Depending on the database, the article may be available in HTML format, PDF format (displays the article as it originally appeared in the periodical with, layout and graphics), or both.

Index   Lists of article citations which may provide an abstract of an article, but does not provide complete text. Use an index to identify material the library may not own but which you may find in another database or request through ILLiad

Journal   A periodical produced for specialists in a particular field, often produced by a scholarly society or academic school; almost always peer reviewed

Limiter   Any of several database functions that narrow a results list, often by using controlled terms, dates, or sources

Magazine   Commercial periodical publication for interested non-specialists or casual professional reading; rarely peer reviewed, but often a good measure of what matters concern a profession, discipline, or interest group

Newsletter   Special-interest periodical of notices and brief summaries of current information, often directed at members of an organization 

Peer review   An editorial process before an article or book becomes accessible (published), in which writing is judged to be good enough for publication by other people who work in the field; it typically represents a higher standard of ability, accuracy, and professionalism (and therefore reliability and quality) than journalistic or non-peer-reviewed work

Periodical   The catch-all term for publications issued on a regular basis, including journals, magazines, newspapers, and newsletters, whether in print or in electronic form

Why Use an Article Database?

Let your fingers do the walking! Article databases are collections of articles and information about articles. Each has a different group of magazines, journals and/or newspapers. Use an article database to

  • identify articles on a specific topic
  • get citations for your bibliography
  • full text articles—click to read
  • print off or email article to yourself

Note: You could browse piles of magazines……

  • If you have lots of time you can flip through the issues of over 10,000 of our different magazine titles, looking for great articles on your topic.
  • This is NOT the easy way! Be smart. Let your fingers do the walking—in an online article database!

Main Electronic Databases

Our main electronic databases are:

  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
    A powerful online reference system accessible via a UTM login. It offers a variety of proprietary full-text databases and popular databases from leading data providers. The comprehensive databases range from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases for public, academic, medical, corporate and school libraries
  • JSTOR
    Used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content. Back-issue contents only--not current publications
  • Project MUSE
    A unique collaboration between libraries and publishers, providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. MUSE's online journal collections support a diverse array of research needs at academic, public, special and school libraries worldwide
  • Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
    A virtual library that Tennessee citizens and UTM students can access from your home pc, your school library computer lab, or your smartphone – anywhere with an internet connection. TEL provides access to over 400,000 electronic resources, including magazines, scholarly journals, podcasts, videos, e-books, test preparation materials, federal census records, Tennessee primary source materials, and more!

How to Use the Article Databases

To find magazine, journal or newspaper articles: use an article database. Article databases allow you to search for articles by topic, author, etc. Some (not all) article databases link to the full text of articles.

Primary Source Databases (all), including newspaper databases.
Look carefully at the description of each database. Note what years of publication are included, what types of materials are included, and whether the database covers a particular academic discipline (such as History) or whether it is interdisciplinary.

Start with a keyword search, using a few key terms. Enter phrases (example: spanish-american war), or two or more key terms connected by "and" (example: disabled and berkeley). Look at the full version of relevant records to find official subject terms (also known as descriptors) to use in a subject search.

Search results may be saved to a list and e-mailed.

Once you have used an index to find a relevant citation, you need to find the text of the item. Some online indexes include links to full text.
In some article databases you may click on the image button, which will either locate the full text of the article online, or perform a search to determine where the journal title (magazine or newspaper) is located on campus.

Chat with a Reference Librarian

(Help via chat is only available during Reference desk hours)

Journal Articles & Photocopies

The ILLiad system allows users to borrow specific articles from journals to which UTM does not have access, or to get pages photocopied from books and other materials in the PML collections.

  • There are no charges for using this service.
  • Articles generally will be emailed electronically to your university email address.
  • All photocopies become the property of the user and do not need to be returned.
  • Individual articles (not entire journal issues) will be provided.
  • Use of this service and material secured through it is strictly limited to non-commercial educational purposes only.