Skip to main content

Nursing: GOVERNMENT DATABASES

Nurses "are guided by an ethical & humanitarian philosophy in which every human being deserves respect, regardless of racial, social, cultural, sexual, economic, religious, or other factors." (Mosby, Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions)

GOVERNMENT DATABASES





Centers for Disease Control
 Excellent source of information on variety of health and safety topics


 
Clinical Trials Up-to-date information on federally and privately funded clinical trials for diseases and conditions; clinical trials & studies listed by: condition, drug intervention, sponsor, and location
 







Genetics Reference
 Provides information on over 600 genetic conditions, syndromes, and diseases.  Information on over 850 genes, chromosomes, mitochondrial DNA and associated health conditions. Links to other genetic information and organizations. Glossary of medical and genetics terms

 

 


Flu.gov
 - For consumers and professionals

GOVERNMENT DATABASES

MedlinePlus - National Institutes of Health Website 
for general public, providing information on diseases, conditions, wellness issues. Includes health videosand 
surgical procedures videos

Health Statistics - Find and use current and reliable health statistics

National Cancer Institute Cancer topics, types of cancer, clinical trials, treatments, research & funding, news, prevention and screening
 

National Institute on Drug Abuse - Resources on drug abuse, treatment, prevention, crime, and research

GOVERNMENT DATABASES

National Institute of Nursing Research
The mission of the NINR is to promote and improve the health of individuals, families, communities, and populations. NINR supports and conducts clinical and basic research and research training on health and illness across the lifespan to build the scientific foundation for clinical practice, prevent disease and disability, manage and eliminate symptoms caused by illness, and improve palliative and end-of-life care







PubMed Central 
Browse or search full text of   many biomedical and life sciences journals










Reports of the Surgeon General
 Includes
official reports and other publications