Skip to main content

Occupational Licensure - Teaching, the profession that teaches all other professions.: HOME

Rebecca Jones

 
 
 
University Supervisor
College of Education and Behavioral Sciences
Education Student Services/ Occupational Licensure

Adjunct Instructor
110 Gooch Hall

 

Pass the Praxis

Testing and Education Reference Center: This database has practice Praxis exams and eBooks on how to pass the tests.

Learning Express Library: Practice exams for Praxis I & II

McGraw-Hill's Praxis I & II Exam: eBook study guide

ETS Website: Eductional Testing Service website where you can register for the Praxis and find guidance on how to pass the tests

Search for Teaching Jobs

Tennessee Teacher Employment Resource: Tennessee Department of Education's teacher recruitment site.

State Education Agencies: Links to certification requirements and employment opportunities in all states.

Search @ the Library

Search the catalog for print and e-title items in the library collection

(use the "Keyword" pull-down menu to target your query to a specific data field)


(Use this separate link to search library databases for > articles < <  in journals, magazines, and select newspapers)

Education Databases

Electronic Databases are useful tools to search for articles in thousands of journals, magazines, and newspapers at the same time.  Some articles will be full-text; others may provide an abstract or summary of the article.

Vocations and Career Collection  This database is a subset of magazines and journals available through Academic OneFile, but for those just seeking sources related to careers and vocations, this smaller collection may be easier to search because it will provide more focused results

Proquest Education Journals Find comprehensive education periodical coverage including primary, secondary, and university-level topics.

Professional Collection  A resource for educators providing access to journal articles related to teaching and learning.  All articles have been published between 1980 and the present date.

Educator's Reference Complete Contains more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports from the U.S. Department of Education. A resource for any educator - from school teachers and administrators to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Provides full-text results for nearly half of the journal titles found in ERIC.

Best Websites for Teaching

Merlot (Workforce Development): Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching. For Criminal Justice lessons, click here.

Edutopia: Billed as "what works in education," this site offers videos, strategies, and classroom guides for a variety of educational purposes.

Discovery Education: Although this is a subscription site, it offers a number of free resources for teachers.

Edublogs: Allows you to create and manage student and teacher blogs easily and securely.

The American Association of School Librarians lists the best websites for teaching and learning. Their landmark websites can be found here. Here's the list for 2013 and previous years.

Occupational Licensure Librarian

Heidi Busch's picture
Heidi Busch
Contact:
156L Paul Meek Library
731-881-3078

Using Technology in the Classroom

Smart Exchange Find lesson plans and game templates for your SMART board.

Microsoft: The Teacher Resources tab provides product how-to lessons for PowerPoint, Excel, Word, Publisher, Outlook, and Movie Maker. Additionally, the site offers templates to create an electronic gradebook in Excel, student databases, tests and quizzes, and an academic calendar.

Occupational Licensure in Tennessee

Occupational Education Licenses: Tennessee Department of Education webpage providing information and applications for Occupational Licensure. 

Career Academic Technical Academic StandardsTennessee Department of Education academic standards that link academic subject areas to vocational lessons.